Russia-Ukraine crisis on Depth

3 111
Avatar for Lawa1988
2 years ago

Picking up a glass in which there was a printed dragon, I can easily guess it was made in China, My uncle took a sip of tea and asked me," what do you think of Russia's acts upon Ukraine? Are they have the right to do so?". My uncle's question surprised me because the whole day he was busy in the woods, going to the jungle bringing woods. I was not expected that, anyway I have to reply to him I said," When two interests clash, one powerful nation always uses its hard power on weaker. And we called it as hawks rule over dove". My uncle responded," what is the interest of Ukraine? Ukraine's interest is to be a member of NATO, isn't it?"

I said," Tell me, uncle, why is Ukraine so obsessed to join NATO? I don't think it is just the trend of riding the train where all are happy in riding. That is the key that can unlock the present lock. We must have an impartial view of both countries' interests. By listening to one side we can't decide it". And I returned to home.

After someday, again my same Uncle walk to me while I was sitting with my friends. He said," I feel happy to talk with you, now I found you and it seems you are free too. Can you elaborate my some doubts". As I was encircled by friends and I was annoyed with their causal talks on girls, I tried to escape the situation and I said, Okey. When I said Okey, now all my friends too became quiet because there was someone out of the circle.

My uncle without wasting a second asked," Today you have to say me about those two interests, what are those which bought today's devastating consequences to Ukraine?".

Me: " Every answer are hidden inside the books of history, we need to turn to those exact days".......

Time was on 11 August 1941, world war, where there was the news about causualties, destructions, interventions etc in Newfound land, Canada, the USA president Roosevelt and the UK president Churchill signed an agreement to decide how post-war world would be. This is the treaty that made European to abondan their occupied land as a colony, decolonisation and as USSR was a communist, thus there were some lines where the Atlantic tic charter speaks about people's rights to choose their form of government. Everyone agreed.

In 1944, in July there was a Bretton Wood Conference which established political and economic machinery. Political machinery was United Nations and economic was IMF, WB and GATT. Later GATT was upgraded to WTO. As if we see subtly these institutions were in the favour of capitalistic countries not to the communist economy. These newly found institutions were the arms of the post-war period.

After the world war, the four main powers the USSR, the USA, the UK and France took up the responsibility to build a country that was badly destructed by war. Thus, every country where they build dividing into four parts, three tried to imbued democratic rule and the USSR tried to corporate communism. Now, the race of communism Vs democracy began which resulted in the cold war. The west power whose aim was to isolate the USSR policies formed a coalition and named them NATO in 1949 by 12 nations. To counteract this NATO, the USSR on 15 May 1955 did the Warsaw pact agreement.

The world was divided into two poles and in 1990, in the race of influential policy, the USSR was lost to the west. And ended up disintegrating into 15 countries, Russia as one. And some says there was a consensus between Russia and the USA that NATO won't be expanded. But there is no written document.

At that time, there were 16 countries as NATO members. Today, there are altogether 30 members of NATO.

My uncle this is the history part. But did you see any interests that were inconsistent with one another?

He replied," No!".

I continued," NOW let us TALK ABOUT THE MAIN ISSUE".

The main issue is viewing the relevancy of NATO from the eyes of Ukraine and Russia, which clashed in the end.

Russia

As Russia, lost the cold war, it always raised a voice from 1990 that since we lost, our land is divided. We are crumbling down on the ground. We are economically weak. Russian economic growth rate is always below 2%.

So Russia always wants that NATO must dissolve too. There is no relevance to NATO anymore.

But in the ground, what happened, from 16 it expanded to 30 and is expanded to those countries which were sometimes a part of the USSR.

And always the USSR is with the position that, till NATO exist as NATO was formed against it, its expansion is making Russia uneasy and is making the USA come to near the borders of Russia. And Russia takes NATO as it used to in the cold war era. This is why NATO always Russia feels insecure.

Ukraine's location is at the black sea, when it too enters into NATO there won't be any route to the sea. Seeing this Russia always warned Ukraine not to join.

In 1914, Russia felt that if Ukraine joins, I need a safe passage thus it annexed Crimea as part of Russia.

Whenever Putin came in power or hold the tenure there he went to war, at first tenure 1999, second Chechen war, where Russia invaded the Chechen area.

In 2008 second, Georgian war with Russia where Georgia was divided into three,

In third 2014, Crimea

In 2022, now after the amendment of the constitution, attack on Ukraine.

This is the aggression of Putin, what makes Ukraine fear? But without a second, the aggression dropped onto them.

Now what about Ukraine

Ukraine

As we know the aggression of Putin, Ukraine wants to be in the circle of powers and that option was only NATO. Because NATO is the military alliance and their article 5 which all talk about if any country attacks on one of them then all felt that attack was upon them and they retaliate back. Thus, NATO was the best option. This is one of the reasons.

The second one is that as we know that Russia and its allies China, Belarus, Syria, North Korea, Cuba ..... They all have one common that is how will be the form of government is not decided by people. It is one party or one person who decides and rules over and over. But Ukraine which believes in the welfare system and believes in the protection of people's rights is the ultimate goal of the nation, which is surrounded by all the aggressive countries that need to find some safe place which was only NATO. As we know, NATO was formed to protect and promote democratic rule.

Not only, Ukraine those BUCHAREST NINE countries too joined NATO for the security purpose. It was not for surrounding Russia. But the prime issue was to be safe at the first hand.

When the counties taste democracy, they can go back. Thus, I too believe in the dissolution of NATO must be done but for the countries like the Baltic, Ukraine....who gonna protect them as we know the aspiration of Russia.

The USA

How does it see NATO? The USA says," until there is nuclear bomb and communism in the world NATO can't be dissolved". The USA believes that if every country in the world adopts a democratic process where we can establish peace.

Now say to to to me uncle," who is right and who is wrong?".

Why can't Russia be conscious of the possible outcomes that can fall upon their heads? Don't they have to think about their security? If Ukraine can think about it. Why not with Russia?

And what was wrong for Ukraine to see as a safe path, it is an independent country with sovereign rights. It can decide and have the right to decide its path.

Now, my uncle and my friends were silent. One of my friends whispered. " How do you know this all? No news and YouTube gave us this information.

I said," I am the student of diplomacy, I have to know this all, small information must fit in the equation of diplomacy."

Broking the silence, my uncle," what is the solution?"

solution :

Me:" as wee are made to believe that communists have aggression and are autocratic. They have deprived the citizens of their rights. Suppose in a democratic country if the government does wrong, anyone can do protest about it. There is no penalty but communist countries, can't protest against the government.

But recently we have seen that in China 80% of people were brought out of poverty. And in democratic counties, the gap between haves and have-nots has been increasing day by day. More poor are increasing in democratic countries. So, we can't say that communists are wrong as well as democratic. Both have pros and cons. Thus, the world must treat both forms of government as sovereign ones. The USA has to change its view towards communism and have to search away to a new world. From 1944, the suppression policy must be stopped. And communist countries must think about the neo- communism.

Though being strict at the start make some sense in later days communism must also transform itself to a new form stretching its arms for more rights of citizens.

And in this backdrop, we can blame Russia for this and also Ukraine. We must believe that the solution can be found through talks.

Russians must also have to stop using hard power and have to convince Ukraine by peaceful means and Ukraine too must look forward to moving on. The final solution is only possible through talks. There is no way out"

And we all went silent.

Disclaimer

Well my friends this was only the conversation, an informal one. This is all about how I see the issue, I am not against any parties. I am a peace-loving guy.

I may be wrong, if you find it so, hope you will correct me in the comment section.

7
$ 2.76
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Lawa1988
2 years ago

Comments

I don't think it's worth sacrificing kids, the elderly, and youths in every war. They should both consider that you always both lost in every war. Again no one will win because both of the countries will suffer from its consequences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think both of the countries understand it, and yeah I agree with you. But always in way the victim are always child, woman.

See Palestine too. No one talks about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very insightful conversation, I don't really follow news about conflict between Russia and Ukraine. I hope two countries make peace soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago