One Thing That I Am Grateful for Today: Taking the Risk to Acquire New Knowledge

27 65
This image was captured by the author.

If there is one thing that I am grateful for today, it is taking the risk of building my website. I have been thinking of it since then because it costs a lot to start, a student like me needs a lot of hard work to earn that amount of money. But hopefully, this risk will be paid off and get a good return on investment even not now but also in the future.

I have been writing on several platforms for almost two years, and maybe this will be the real beginning of my writing career. I have been thinking about this decision for more than a week, after writing on other platforms and earning enough money to buy a domain and web hosting, I decided to purchase their plan which is good for 4 years. I did a lot of research to see if building your website will be helpful, I asked my friends and asked the professionals from Quora. 

It is not necessary and a requirement, yes, but it can be helpful in the future. I purchased the plan with the objectives in mind:

  • Building my portfolio for freelancing.

  • Continue my writing career.

  • Documentation and Journal

  • Long-term goal: Earn through monetization and affiliate marketing.

I know that most of these are difficult to accomplish, but I think all of them are possible. Despite having doubts, I copied the same mindset that Mark Manson had, he took the risk of starting a blog; he can be broke by now while working for something that he hates, or he will start writing and (can be or cannot be) broke in the future…depends on his fate. Fortunately, his fate was in the latter: he became successful by writing. 

I don't wish to become popular like him, I just want to express my thoughts through writing. I want to have a client as a freelancer and of course, earn. 

So, what now? I purchased a plan, where is my website? Well, as of now I am exploring and learning about WordPress. It is my first time doing this and there are still unfamiliar terms and things from it that I have to learn. Hence, I won't reveal my website first. 

I didn't know that it would be difficult for me to customize and manage my website. Choosing the theme and designing its interface is time-consuming and complicated. Is it just me or does everyone find it hard?

But listen, why am I grateful? The best thing that I am grateful for is that I will learn new knowledge. As I said, building a website is kinda complex even while using WordPress. On the other hand, I find it exciting and fun to learn. I am excited to build my website and start to announce that it is live and working!

Through this, I can build my online presence well which might be helpful for my future gigs. They said having a personal website is a plus point to make you look professional.

Also, it is a fun way to show my portfolio that will stay on the internet for years. If this plan goes well, I will renew my domain and hosting. I have one through four years to prove and reach it. 

Key Message: “Learn to take the risk, it can be a win-win situation for you indirectly. If you reach your goal, then congrats. If you fail, it doesn't mean you are a failure, it means you learn a lesson. Be grateful for the outcome and turn the negative into a positive and make it an opportunity.”

For now, there is still 0% of assurance that I can be successful...but after starting my website, I feel that I keep pushing myself to write. It feels that I have to obligate myself to write every day. Having a 0% of assurance does not mean that I can't be successful, it is just the beginning of becoming one! Hopefully, I can be.


This post should be posted yesterday, but since I am so sleepy, I have to stop in the middle of this blog and continue it for today. Expect another blog later! This is part of the prompt.



Published: June 2, 2022



14
$ 6.69
$ 6.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty

Comments

Good idea to launch a website. This is your digital business card. You can update it however you want as your business develops further.

I think we're on similar trajectories. I recently decided to take my writing to a professional level and will begin offering my services as a freelance copywriter soon (next month if all goes to plan). I also intend on making good use of my cryptoblogging in parallel, both in terms of income as well as networking.

See you around mate!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already congratulate you Laurenceuu 🎉. Wow, you're making me impress with the mindset you have hahaha. No joke, you and other several writers here are exactly the reason why I am so motivated to do better in life :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, that's cool hahaha I'm also just inspired by other people. But I'm lazy in real life🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sus humbleism pa hahaha jk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you have a good career and opportunities in your website bro. I am comsci student so basically we're the one who build the web. It's my project this incoming semester. Ugh!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodluck! Anong year mo na?

Btw, thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uhm. 3rd year palang po. Haha. Batang bata.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nuxx! Malapit na maka-graduate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No success can be achieved in life without taking risks, I congratulate you😘. If you share the site link, we will visit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, I am still exploring WordPress. It is kinda confusing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you can solve it well and understand

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also designing a website for a client, but we are using Web Builder, I think? Medyo challenging talaga sa umpisa pero nakuha ko rin naman. Anyway, I am planning to have my own blogging site, parang compilation sana ng blogs ko. And I didn't know that I can from it din. Goodluck sa plan mo :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Web builder? App ba 'yan? Ang hirap sa phone lang kasi ako haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi ko sure kung may App siya, L. Pero madali lang doon eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on taking that first step. You're already halfway there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pano ba magbayad kapag nagpurchase ka sa WordPress? Sa ngayon e sa blogspot ako e free lang.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Gawan ko siguro article hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Push

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

I don't think so this is a risk. I think you are going to get huge success this is the first step. One of my friends made a website and now is earning a lot of profit from it. So the website is better than YouTube or other platforms. Just you need to be consistent and work on the website continuously.
All the best bro. I would say you are making the right decision.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! What's his website? And where did he live?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He is From Pakistan. And his website is about medical intrey test preparation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Building the website is the good step you take, in start you need to do work hard and I know you will do it best of luck about the success of your website

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami ko gusto ipursue tlga.. Website at vlogging din sa traveling namin..kaso time ang kulang ..hayst.

Mganda yan..ipush mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag nakauwi ka na ng pinas hehe tsaka ka bumawi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago