I found a place where every day it's Christmas

4 35

Christmas is a time when people are loving, forgiving, and giving. The time when even in the face of struggle we choose to smile and give joy. We may have shortcomings but we strive to do better.

In the year 2015, I joined a catholic group called "Opus Dei". After I graduated with my associate's degree, I decided to elope with them and work in their centers to pursue my so-called " calling".

I adapted to their way of living and fulfill the spiritual norms daily. If you are wondering what Opus Dei is, it is a group of catholic people from different parts of the world who advocates "living holy in ordinary life".

What does it mean? A person can be holy by being ordinary. A teacher can be holy by offering her everyday work to God. Like how you offer things during holy mass. Does it ring a bell to you? I'll explain furthermore.

The members of Opus Dei are ordinary Catholics. But they are more pious than the ordinary. Because they strive to be the best version of themselves for God. They go to mass every day, pray the rosary, read the Bible, mortify, and go to work every day without fail. When I say every day I mean it. Can you imagine? Speaking of reading the Bible, here's a photo I want to share.

Things my baby needs every day in the form "Read"

Work is a form of prayer, they say. I believe it too, just like singing is a form of prayer. So, how do you offer your work? It is by constantly talking to God while working, trying to offer all the good and bad. Asking for guidance to handle difficulty calmly.

They also obey all the catholic teachings like holy days of obligation, fasting, and abstinence during lent, do pilgrimages, and many more. Of course, they also have shortcomings. That's where forgiveness and gratefulness occur. Sacraments are there to recharge your soul and get ready to grind again.

You can be holy, yes you can. And it feels great. Like how you feel after going out of the confessional box. You feel the grace of God that you might say I can die peacefully now. I mean you won't worry about dying cause you know you'll be going to heaven. That's how it felt.

The information I shared was based only on my understanding and experience while I was there. As I said, every day is Christmas because Christ is always the center of their life. They live ordinary and holy. We can too, in our way. As a mom, I can offer my work in taking care of my baby daily.

During the Christmas season, we feel like we are little children wishing for Santa to arrive. We have some activities like wreath making or poster making. We also write a letter to Santa and receive gifts on Christmas eve. A big celebration and get-together are held. And it's the most wonderful Christmas I have ever experienced in my life.

I hope you like this faction article I shared with you. Thanks to @TengoLoTodo for giving me this idea to make an article about Christmas.

Sponsors of LaineB
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.25
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Sel
+ 1
Sponsors of LaineB
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I remember that day when you said you wanted to be a nun because that's you're "calling" I was taken aback I couldn't believe it. But I told you "You can still serve God even if you don't become a nun", I wanted you to have your own family. God answered my prayer. He's really good all the time.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Sel
2 years ago

Are you still in it now? I live your baby Read picture! Thanks for entering #ChristmasChallenge2021

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not anymore. I only stayed there for two years. I was told that it wasn't for me. So they asked me to leave. I'm in a better place now where I take care of my child and husband. Bout the read picture, it was chaotic hehe I only grabbed what I can while watching over my baby. Thank you too for the inspiration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure and welcome to read. I am glad you are no longer part of it, it does not have a good reputation here in the UK.

$ 0.00
2 years ago