Lost in Love - Chapter 2

0 28
Avatar for LadyOfTheLight
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Write, Love, Romance

TABLE OF CONTENTS

When Love was lost, where do you find it?

No part of this book may be reproduced or used in any manner without obtaining permission from the author.

This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events, and incidents are product of the author's imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

CHARACTERS:

Irish Grace Santillan

Kennedy Co

Kennedy Van Velasco

DESCRIPTION

Have you ever lost your self in the process of being in love? Love is supposed to be a simple word but is very complicated to explain as it doesn’t require you to define what does it really mean rather, it is knowing more and understanding what is the real intention behind why we love. But how we can prove if love was already gone? Perhaps, a second chance or a new found love? Or maybe both?

A new journey of mine. Come with me and let’s unravel the mystery behind.

Chapter 2

"My name is Kennedy Van Velasco, you can call me Ken," My heart skipped a bit. I stare at him and wonder why I'm feeling anxious about what I'm feeling. I shook my head to reject those wild thoughts that are continuously running through my head "Are you fine?."

"I'm okay" I responded and quickly dodges his supposed touch on my forehead.

"Sorry" He awkwardly pull out his hand that is suspended in the air. He sighs.

I continue looking somewhere else except him. He feels like Ken, they even share the nickname except that they're different. I'm lost in my thoughts when he went to me and stare. His eyes, they look...

"I'll visit you later"

I casted my thoughts away. Stop associating anyone to Ken. I told myself. I miss Ken so much but I should stop myself from seeing him to others.

When he was about to turn back his back on me, I got a hold of his hand "Thank you for bringing me to the hospital but can you not visit?" I wasn't even sure how I uttered that word, I didn't know if it sounded rude but the moment I looked at his eyes, I see pain crossed his eyes which disappears quickly.

"See you later," He said ignoring whatever I told him. I didn't respond anymore until all I see is his back disappearing on the door.

I sighed and went back to sleep.

"Why do you keep on following me around?" I asked him after I sipped on the juice he bought. I've been sailing for 2 days, I am tired of constantly keeping him away from me when he keeps on pestering me since yesterday. He wasn't nosy, he is just actually quiet and serious all the time but it baffled me why he stays with me when I've been showing him my attitude.

His manly arms are crossed against his chest. I couldn't traced where his eyes is directed because of his shades on but I assume, he is checking me out. Because why not? I'm more beautiful than any scenery.

I internally smashed my head at my narcissistic thought. He raised an eyebrow. I pouted to conceal what I've been thinking.

My sight went under the table, I looked at my feet that now wear boots. I lifted my vision and met his eyes that has been waiting for my attention. I rolled my eyes which garnered a chuckle. "What?" I said in my bratty tone.

He stared at me like I've grown something on my head. His only response was a plaster of a small smile before he becomes a stoic person as he is. Am I too beautiful?

"Are you just going to look at me the whole time?"

"You're beautiful" He complimented me all of a sudden which caught me off-guard making me blush.

"I-I know" I stuttered a little. I cleared my throat and told him that I would go in the deck for fresh air, as if we weren't in an open area. I told myself sarcastically.

Gushes of cold winds touches my face and it seems like it is putting me to sleep. I put my elbows in to the railing and let it rest there. My palms were under my chin supporting my head from tilting. It was very peaceful.

Back when I was in Manila, all I did was work. I was able to get a high paying job the moment that I graduated and from then on I never took a day off. I go out with friends and colleagues to club somewhere in BGC but I need to limit myself to party as I know that my time is precious to spent on events like that. I love socializing with people and because of work, it keeps me from having a life.

I can just not work anyway but then since I wanted to prove independence I decided to buy my own place, pay bills, and of course buy my stuffs. Though at first, my parents are against it, they couldn't go against it anymore as I promised them that I would cut off my time spent on partying which is unintentionally happening to me.

I met a friend there, which is Aaliyah. We just clicked because of our differences. Funny that we used to be very bad at each other when we were in college but now, we're great friends. Maybe, when you mature you just let those things go, fights don't interest you anymore and it is the peace that you would be looking for.

I checked on my phone and received a message. The signal is pretty bad here and there's no WIFI to engage myself, luckily at least I have someone that I can talk to though it feels like you were talking to a rock, that would do for now.

I let out a squeal when I was pinned down all of a sudden, my heart almost went out of my ribs when I heard a shot of gunfire. I cover my head with my hand, my feet went immobile that I thought I was paralyzed.

"Come on"

"Ken, what is happening?" I said, I don't know if he heard it as people are already panicking and gunshots echoed throughout the sea. I cling on him that it can kill him because of how tight I wrapped my arms around his waist.

"Not too tight. I can feel your-f*ck" He cursed and drag me inside the ship.

"Wait! I can't move my legs!" I exclaimed, I probably looked stress now. He just continued dragging me until we reached a certain spot where no passengers passed by. I can still heard a faint sound of gunfire and panicking people.

"Where are you going? Don't leave me here!" I exclaimed, he shushed me.

"Just wait here, okay? I'll be back," He cupped by cheek and put a gun on my hand "In case, someone attacked you, don't hesitate."

"What if this ferry will sink? I don't know how to swim!" I said, dread consumed me as I imagine myself suffocating with sea water.

"I'll make sure that you would be safe" He said assuring me protection.

I believed him. I will believe him. I nodded while tears continuously stream down my eyes "Please be safe," I only utter before he turned his back on me and run towards where the gunshots are located.

As I silently waited, worry stretched on my system. The exchanges of gunshots made me nervous. I sit on patiently and bring my knees close to my chess. I docked and hide my head in between. I gasped when I saw a stain of ketchup on my white shirt. I groaned painfully as I remember the price of this shirt.

I did a breathing exercise, "Safety is more important" I close my eyes and say those words repeatedly.

Until I got tired of it. My eye lids are dropping, footsteps neared me and before I can get the gun on my hand, I completely lose myself to darkness. Darkness consumed me.

I bolted out on my sleep and looked at my surroundings, looking for any traces of yesterday. I heave a sigh of relief when the door vomited Ken with a tray of food on his hand.

"Where am I?"

"We're in a hotel" He said casually while he put the tray on the bedside table.

"We're in what?!" I hyperventilated. I looked at my clothes and glare at him expecting him to explain this phenomena.

He's hiding a smile and all I want to do is tackle him down to punished him.

I attacked him and pinned him until his back met the floor. I punched his chest with all my might and to my annoyance, he wouldn't even winced. He was even happy and laughing until I was the one who get tired and stop. I'm almost out of breath.

"We were in the hospital, I told the nurse to change your clothes because of the stain. I doubt if you wanted to wear that one" I glared at him, not completely believing me. He smirked "Disappointed that I'm not the one who change your clothes? Next time."

"Then, why are we at a hotel and not in a hospital?"

"The hospital is very small here, many civilians were hurt badly and need treatment immediately," he explained "You need to consult a psychologist to check for signs of stress or trauma."

"I'm already fine."

"You sure? Though you still need to consult one."

"Okay. Uhmm.. Thank you"

I smile at him to show how grateful I am for saving and not leaving me behind. I might be a brat but it doesn't mean that I don't have a good personality. I know how to display gratitude even I don't look like someone that doesn't bow down to anyone.

My smile fades upon realizing how scandalous our position is. I was straddling his waist, palms rested on his chest while he got a hold on the both sides of my waist as if guiding me to...

I abruptly stood up that I don't care if I tripped over and over. When I was on my feet, I run as fast as I can to the bed and cover myself with the comforter. I internally cussed myself over and over.

I heard him cleared his throat. I lifted the comforter a little bit, just enough to spy on him and saw him entering another room which I assume to be a bathroom.

"I'm not stinky, aren't I? Is my breath bad?" I put my palms over my mouth and blow some air to check. I kicked on the bed and the comforter when I smell how unpleasant my breath is "How many times do I need to embarrass myself?" I groaned and decided to take a nap to get it off my mind.

PS: Didn't Proofread. XOXO

4
$ 3.92
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for LadyOfTheLight
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Write, Love, Romance

Comments