Dancing With Your Ghost

16 40
Avatar for LadyOfTheLight
3 years ago

No part of this book may be reproduced or used in any manner without obtaining permission from the author.

This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events, and incidents are product of the author's imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

This story is inspired by the song Dancing With Your Ghost by Sasha Sloan. This plot has been running on my mind for many months now but only that I have the courage to post and write it in reality. Supposedly, this story would run for many chapters but then I decided to just make it a short one. Anyways, I might consider to have a sequel for this plot. Not sure for now, it would really depends on my mood.

I recommend you listening to this song so you would have an idea how this story would end. Just a little bit of spoiler.

It was under the strobing lights when I met the most beautiful man I've ever seen in my whole life. In that moment, I felt something magical like I wanted to spend my whole life in his arms. I couldn't phantom how he managed to attract me by just merely looking straight through my eyes.

My heart leaps a big jump when he flashed a smirk. He left his friends on their table and approached my direction. I looked away and pretended that I don't know where he is planning to go. I continue sipping on my flute when he stopped by beside my stool and have his own seat.

He ordered Manhattan over the bar counter. Through my peripheral, I saw him wetted his lips after he took a sip on his drink. We both manage to create an eye contact when I unintentionally look at his expecting stare. I awkwardly averted and chuckle to myself.

His looks tell me everything about this guy. He looks like a forbidden fruit that everyone crave for. Dangerous. He is the type of guy who is only after a one stand and not on serious relationships, I can tell.

"Alone?" He asked, his attention is now directed to me.

I stared at him for a moment and all I wanted to do at that point in time is to brush off his mischievous grin.

I just hummed in response and directed my attention to him as well. I crossed my legs and lean in towards to him and whispered "Want to have a one night stand?" I offered.

I don't know if it is the liquor that is acting up that made me brave to asked such a daring question. He was quite taken aback by my proposal and couldn't respond immediately. He cleared his throat and sip on his drink.

"Why?" He asked instead.

"Well, just want to let some steam off" I reasoned. His brows furrowed at my answer like I did not answer his question correctly. His jaw clenched.

"And that is by offering a one night stand to a stranger?" He asked as if he missed some of my statements.

"Silly," I chuckled "You work as well right? And I know that you do that as well to let out some steam,"

He sighed "You're just probably drunk"

Upon his words, I felt my surroundings shaking. I glared and my eyes turns slit "You cursed me, I wasn't drunk a while back" I accused him which makes his head shake as if I've gone crazy.

I felt elevated and manly scent filled my nostrils causing me to snuggle on the scent. The next thing I knew is that I was deposited on the comfort of a bed.

My eyes blurred, pain struck my head. I winced and tears pooled on my eyes. A warm thing embraced me, I hold onto it to transfer the pain away even if it wasn't effective. I trembled.

"Are you okay, miss?" His voice small but I can feel his worried tone. My palm fisted to endure the pain.

"Make me forget pain, please," I pleaded desperately. In my trembling hands, I reached for his clothes and tear it off him. He got a hold of my hand to stop "Please..." I whispered and stubbornly reached for his and my clothes off our body.

I stick out my tongue and kiss him furiously until I felt him kissing me back. That night, under the influence of alcohol and pain I give in my everything. I let go every hesitation in my body and let myself engage on a night where I wished that it never happens. The desperation to feel something aside from pain, the need to re-direct what I'm feeling intensified as the pain on my head throbbed more.

My back rested on door after I entered my condo, I slowly slip like a wax on a candle after being lit in flame. I closed my eyes and let my mind wander around my decisions.

After spending the night with him, I run away just like what every normal girls in dramas and fiction do after they unintentionally have a fun night with a guy. I lost my innocence to a stranger, I need to process it still.

At the back of my mind, it made me occupied that night that I forgot how my head almost gave up and I somehow felt thankful. The pain from yesterday is pleasuring which is very different to what I've always experience. He made me experience what it feels like to be on cloud nine, everything that happened seems surreal.

I mentally slapped my thoughts away. I should stop reminding myself of that night because it would not do me something good. I just hope that we wouldn't crossed path anymore.

"This is the last will and testament signed by your father before his untimely death," Attorney Santiago, our family lawyer said as he gave me a piece of my paper.

It states here that all of his property would be transferred under my name after I reached 20. I sighed and accepted the documents. Until Atty. Santiago left, I was still in awe.

Days after my fathers death, I was forced to move out of our house and left with nothing but myself. I worked so hard to sustain my needs and work my ass off just so I can survive for a day. I scoffed while my palm fisted tightly.

My father re-marry years after my mother died while giving birth to me. He married a widow with a daughter of my age. When father decided to house them in our home, I felt betrayed for my mother whom I haven't seen aside from photographs, nevertheless I tried to get along with them which works only when father is around.

I remembered acquiring a bruise from my step-mother after his daughter went to my room without my knowledge to get jewelries and my dress. I wouldn't mind to lend her my things, only if she tells me. I confronted her about it and his evil of a mother started to point finger that I was selfish and such and I don't have a right to accused his daughter a thief which I didn't. Years passed of trying to make it work between us for the sake of my father, nothing happened.

I was miserable living in our house, I don't even think of it as a home when all I felt while living there is loneliness. My father and I would argue every single day, I felt alone. The only person who should listen to me, never lend me his ears instead is fed with lies my stepmother and step sister tells him.

The connection between me and my father faded, proving my point is pointless because he wouldn't listen to his only daughter. Until he suddenly died, our relationship to each other didn't went back to the way it used to, I was shocked and the only thing I have is tears and my regret. I mourn for his death while being away from his funeral, my step mother didn't let me come to the funeral. She locked me up in my room until when she came back home one night, she throws me outside of our house.

I started living alone and earn my money by doing multiple jobs in a day. I experienced hunger and how life is very unfair to people who are not privileged and doesn't have a mean to survive.

I was lucky that after doing skilled work, I was accepted to a company when I applied for an accounting position. I worked very hard and passionately until one day, I collapsed. I was rushed to the hospital, the time the doctor tells me about my condition, together with my hopes and dreams my world collapsed.

"You should take this seriously, this would cost you your life if you continue being stubborn," Doctor Perez told me frustratingly.

Long ago, I gave up my life. I wasn't planning to treat myself because I have no point to why I need to live. I wouldn't take the medication unless the pain is too much to bear. I'll make sure that I will oppose whatever that makes my life longer. I go to bar to see faces and tried to live my life happily before it ends.

Weeks of absence from my usual night activity, I went back to clubbing when I felt my condition becomes better. I party with strangers and drink a lot of liquor.

I can feel myself getting drunk when the guy I was dancing pulled me somewhere at the dark alley of the club. I wasn't on the right mind to protest when out of nowhere, I was carried bridal style. A familiar scent attacked my nostrils which sends me comfort and peace.

I woke up at the middle of the night because of the continuous petting on my hair. I slowly open my eyes and blink, the first thing I saw was those beguiling eyes that seep through my soul.

"How are you feeling?" He asked huskily.

"Why did you bring me here?"

"I couldn't let you go with a stranger."

"Aren't you a stranger as well?"

He sighed problematically and said seriously "I want you to only belong with me"

I laughed as a response as I find it non sense for a stranger to claim a woman he had a one night stand with.

His brows furrowed "Truthfully, I went looking for you for a week now because I couldn't get you out of my mind," My heart skipped a beat "Then, I found you with a stranger," He stopped and cupped my cheek "You can use me when you want to let off some steam. I couldn't bear to see you do it with someone else"

I playfully caress his chest with my fingers and stopped on his jaw. I hummed "You're just infatuated"

"But sure, should we start now?"

XXX

TO BE CONTINUED

AU: NOT PROOFREADED

9
$ 1.90
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @wrabbiter
Avatar for LadyOfTheLight
3 years ago

Comments

This story has a great potential. A few mistakes here and there but that fact doesn't seem to affect the overall impact of the story. It's quite good and I would love to read more of this.

Who hasn't dreamed to approach a pretty girl and get offered a one-night-stand right off the bat? I would gladly take that opportunity thank you very much. Hahaha.

Cool story. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for giving my story a chance. I'm still learning how to properly write but I promise that it will improve in time especially the grammars and stuffs. I appreciate your comment and your thoughts. Take care.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know it will. :) Just keep at it. It's fun to do what you love and learn at the same time. Let's all learn together. I'm excited for this. Aabangan ko din to. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

awww thank you. You write as well right? I'll check your work too haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep, I'm trying to, at the very least.
Why, thank you!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Subscribe done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, your story has a good start. It makes me excited what would happen next. By the way, I've seen that you said that you are not an expert, i doubt it haha. Your use of word are good, not just like some of the stories i read here,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww I'm very flattered to hear such word from you. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. Your story is very unique, more thoughts rather than those corny conversation haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

omg i'm planning to put some corny conversation haha just kidding

$ 0.00
3 years ago

BTW, Are you from the Philippines?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

grabe sana all magaling sa english huhuhu how to be u po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

tsaka no need naman na maging perfect sa grammar basta ang mahalaga is naii express mo yung sarili mo at naiintindihan ka.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

grabe sya, sobrang nakaka flatter naman sinasabi mo. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago