Tales By Starlight; F-Zoned II

0 7
Avatar for La...Joya
3 years ago

Having concluded I was going to take comfort in my friendship with her, I got back home after the date thinking about what had happened? Why did I freeze? I thought I was ready to open up to her about my feelings. Well, there'd always be a next time I resolved. I just need to bold. The sad truth is, this was the third time I've said that to myself. Tired, I turned on my TV to follow up on my favourite reality show; KUWTK. But the show wasn't airing just yet so I kept tuning from one channel after another buying time until I stopped at this channel, where a psychologist was being interviewed on the topic of rejection and it's effect on the total wellbeing of a child.

"The emotional soil our roots are planted has a bearing on our entire lives. Every child during their formative years should receive the idea of love and acceptance in the strong protecting arms of their father and the warmth emotional affection of their mother. Because it is during those formative years of their lives that they receive the message of identity. A child brought up in a loving atmosphere and home faces future relationships with security and confidence. And if for some reason love and acceptance was not properly communicated during those formative years, it is interpreted as rejection and chances are they'll face all other relationships with fear, mistrust and insecurity," she said.

Baffled. I thought, could this be the case with me? Does my emotional soil have a bearing on my fear of opening up to her about my feelings? Or I'm I just being scared. There's however nothing much to write about my childhood. But all I do know is that I'd never want my kids(if I'd ever have them) to share my childhood fate.

To be continued...

Photo credit: Getty Images.

Part I https://read.cash/@La...Joya/tales-by-starlight-f-zoned-1eba3a21

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for La...Joya
3 years ago

Comments