Tales By Starlight: F-Zoned

1 21
Avatar for La...Joya
3 years ago

"I don't know what's next to come in my life,' she said,'...so I don't want to tie anyone down." Then I said to her, "nobody knows what's next to come and that's the truth. But if we all live life based on the uncertainty of tomorrow, we won't grace today and live it to its fullest. So, I'd rather you take a chance at living today and we'd unveil tomorrow together."

She gave me a furtive glance and smiled. The door to tomorrow is still shut, I continued. But when it opens, I want to walk through it holding your hand. That's all I want to do. Let's take it one step at a time in time. Her eyes sparkled and she reached out for my hand. I didn't know what to think as a million thoughts ran through my mind.

Did I get through to her? Why isn't she saying anything? What's running through her mind? I was anxious to hear what next she had to say—oh! How I wished I was a psychic at that moment. After few minutes of silence, she spoke up. "James,[cleared throat]...hmm, see the truth is I'm not ready to commit to anyone in an intimate relationship just yet. I have my whole life in front of me and don't want to be emotionally invested.

Boom! There was a moment of absolute silence so profound that it seemed the eatery we were in suddenly fell asleep. No sound from the audio system, no clinking of spoons, no whispers amongst other customers. I sat there staring blankly through the door of the eatery. That's a nice way of saying, 'No'...I thought and wished I didn't make my intentions known. All of a sudden someone tapped my shoulder from behind, I was startled and turned around. It was her. 'Hi James, she said... I' m sorry I came in late. I was caught in traffic.'

Our date was scheduled for 12pm. I came in a bit earlier and in process of waiting, played the possible outcome of it in my head and afraid of being turned down(as I had imagined), decided to keep my intentions to myself and derived pleasure in being just a good friend of hers.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for La...Joya
3 years ago

Comments

Awesomely written

$ 0.00
3 years ago