Your Only Picture

0 22
Avatar for LEMREJ
Written by
3 years ago

I was startled awake by a loud rattle. When I went to see where it came from, I noticed my cousin dropping a bottle. Its glass was strewn about the room. I stood up after a few blinks. On the side of my bunk, I picked up my cellphone. It's already dyes in the morning. It's getting close to lunchtime. “I'm sorry, buddy, and it wasn't my intention. My cousin Jomar apologised, saying, "The glass I was carrying slipped in my palm." “It's all right, Jom. Then it's fine at noon, and I woke up,” I added, smiling. I've made my bed on the sofa. Since there are only two spaces, this is where I sleep. My aunt and I share a house. I'm completely orphaned. I'm one child. My parents died from an accident when I was only fifteen years old. My aunt Mary raised me with two sons. Their lives here are tricky because Aunt Maria's disabled. She can't walk because of an accident. A car hit him, bruised his legs and feet. Her husband is a construction worker. I'm working in a public school canteen right now. In life's hardships, I go to high school. I'm just a 2nd-year high school student, and I was too lazy to study because of the time I worked to make a living and give my aunt somehow. Again Monday, I woke up early because I was still working. I need only be there six times. "Our beautiful companion!" Alling Linda loved me. It's our cook. "Good morning to you" "Oh hey, go ahead and turn the rice of this friend into chaffing so I can wash this pan" I acted immediately because later the students flock to have breakfast. We need to move fast because time is fast and lunch again. I blow blows while walking to relieve my arm's pain. It's again night. Another day was over. "Hahaha," I stopped walking when a child laughed. I turned back. A bloody student peeled from a tree. Smiling, looking at me. I closed my eyes. I try to avoid them, but they always show up. I started seeing them at age ten. I was so scared I got used to it. My mother said it was a blessing to see them, unlike others. But for me, it's not a blessing, because it sometimes becomes an obstacle. I'm used to seeing them, but I can't help but be scared because ghosts ask for help and others don't keep quiet on the surface world. I kept walking. I hurried a little to the gate. "You see me, I know," Whispered in my ear. Suddenly I was amazed, but I kept walking. "I just want to play because I'm sad," I stopped walking and looked back. I suddenly backed to my shock. He was standing before me. It looked sad. Bloody facial. He was the student who fell from the tree for picking mangoes a year ago. His skull was broken and lost his life because he was in hospital. Everyone was forbidden to climb the tree, and his mango tree was cut down. "Stop. Stop. I can't help. I'll pray for your soul," I said calmly. "Mark, hey!" I turned where. I saw this school guard Manong Ben. I've walked closer. "You, Manong Ben," He looked and glanced where I was before. "Who you spoke to earlier? Seems I see nothing?" Frowning when he said it. I grabbed my nape smiling. "I haven't got Ben, and I memorized something earlier because my cousin asked for help with their role play" "Ah, he's careful when you're home, Mark. Hopefully you're as diligent as my son" "Okay, I'm here first. Please be careful when going home, "I said outside the gate once. I never mentioned my ability to see souls in my nearly two-year rice work. Because I don't like being laughed at and told crazy. I saw my cousin Jomar sitting in our corner. It stood to see me. "At Mark!" Once it calls me closer. "Why, Jom? You gotta say something?" "Oh, brother. Earlier, Aunt Alma called mom. She said she'd send you to Antipolo. Just in case you live first. There's your own house, her tiny house. They're leaving for Canada because she'll live with her son. Then his two kids will be left there because they still have to finish their studies in the Philippines and then they don't want to go to Canada next time, he said, "Ah, is that so, there's someone left, why should I be taken?" Because the two are still studying, they always don't have them. Don't pet chickens, auntie? You'll look after them. The one that's going to be your home behind auntie's pet chickens. You'll look after them because they're there. Those who lived there are still in the alley. Those who lived there have already left. I don't know if those my aunt lives have left almost every month. I'm not sure if chickens or the house itself have a problem," I thought suddenly. I'm going to be as long as I want to be apart, but I still don't have enough money, and I'm having trouble leaving them, aunt. "Oh, Mark, you're here. Has Jomar told you?" My aunt was kind to me when I entered. "Yes, auntie, she said outside earlier" "If you agree, you can leave tomorrow. I hope you agree, we're also very indebted to your aunt Alma, aren't we? She was helping when we weren't there. You'll take care of his chickens first and look at your cousins there. Don't worry about us. Then you're big, and live alone. And so you can get married, "He said, I laughed. Of course, I never thought of entering a relationship because I wasn't ready yet, because I was ashamed to be introduced to my future bride's parents that I was the only one. There's no good income. "Okay, aunt, I'm fine. Let me send you with too much." "Thanks, Mark. You've helped us so much. I'm glad you grew up a good child. Thanks, Mark," he said, hugging me. I heard soft sob. I can't but cry. A car picked me up the next day. It happened quickly because Aunt Alma was in a hurry, and she still had a lot to do. Aunt Maria is said to be the one to explain to my aunt in the canteen where I work. Someone touching me makes me turn around. Mang Lito is the driver of Aunt Alma. "We're here, son, you can descend. Your aunt is waiting for you," he said, pointing at a woman in her 50s but still in good posture. The attire is so beautiful to say life is perfect. "Hello, you're, Mark? You're a youth's size! How are you doing?" Smiling, he said. I wished him the closest I could. "Aunt Alma, good evening. I'm okay" "Come inside and have dinner. I cooked you a delicious dish," he said, pulling my arm. Just stunned by his house's beauty. Three floors. The furnishings are beautiful, the garage is spacious outside, three cars and plants are expensive. "Sit, Mark," I sat right next to him. I saw a woman and a man before me. They're my cousins. "It's Lea. She's only eighteen. And this is 20-year-old Leo" "Hello," "bro," they greeted me. I've smiled at them. "He's your Mark brother's children. He's 22, so you call him brother. Respect yourself, huh? It doesn't matter that he looks at you. If you need help, ask him to help you." Nod, they both nodded, listening quietly. "And you, Mark, just watch over our pet chickens. They're one hundred plus. You'll feed them, clean the cage. Every week our customers come to buy chickens, and the next week there will be suppliers. Let's have a chicken to come. They bring the chickens you raise for sale. There's a farm house. Here's the chicken coop. It's far from the chicken coop. No need to worry about water and light. I'll take care. I'll pay for it as long as you're housekeeping." He stopped talking, and then someone took his bag's envelope. "It's 10k for your first month's allowance. It's up to you what you want. Every month you have a rice grocery worth 5k, and the three of you will go on grocery. And if you want another job, it's okay. Until you neglect our chickens. You'll give Lea or Leo the money "Yes, aunt, I promise the better. It's a blessing for me, "I said, smiling. It's no longer bad because I'll send something to Aunt Maria. Aunt Alma held my hand, smiling sparingly. "Please, Mark, I hope you're the last one I can stay in. I hope you don't leave, because I can't find anything else" My front furrowed. I also thought when Jomar said people are leaving there every month. "Yes, aunt, don't worry," I said. The next day, my aunt accompanied me to the house I was living in. It was finally just across the alley. "That's your house, Mark. And then I fixed broken doors and windows." "Thanks, auntie" "Can I leave? It's up to you because I still have a walk there next to a cabinet—chicken food and vitamins. I'm quitting Mark: Mark "Okay, aunt, be careful." When I said that, he turned and walked away. I went to the house where I live. It's the right size. I look back at the house. Mango trees and santol trees. I saw a large chicken coop away. I've sighed. Hopefully, luck awaits me when I live here. I took the key from my pocket and opened the door. That's fine. Here, too, are uses. I've got my rival, TV, electric fan, fridge and bedroom. Colors are plain. Blue light is the color of its paint on the wall and white. I put my stuff down on the sofa. I entered the room. There is a bed that can fit three people. I’m going to fall asleep. “Hays, I wish I was lucky in this house. Thank you, Lord for the blessings,” I said softly. I got up to pick up my bag on the sofa as my fur suddenly rose. I was suddenly startled. I close my eyes suddenly. “Hays,” I sighed, then stared. That’s why the people who live here leave every month because there is a soul here. From the window, I saw a woman dressed in white as she looked at me.

To be continued...

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for LEMREJ
Written by
3 years ago

Comments