The Adams: Bait or Sacrifice

0 21
Avatar for L0neRider
2 years ago

This world I live in now is one where if you have doubts even in yourself, you would find it hard to survive. Over my years as a teen soldier, I’ve fought and killed many Adams, I was keeping count but at a point I lost count at two hundred thousand. We have about three kinds of Adams and how we deal with them. The Class-A Adams were the first set of Adams there was but over time, Class-G and Class-S developed. Class-A Adams are those that died of the ADV, they’re easy to take care of and dispose of at night because then they rely on only sound to move around but during the day we have to aim for the head. The Class-G are those who were bitten by the class-A Adams and they give more concern than the Class-A Adams as they learn and adapt to various situations they face. The Lab scientists say it is because some part of them is still human so to kill them we have to separate their head from the rest of their body. Then we have the Class-S, to be honest with you I know very little of them, we all do. The only thing I know for sure is that they’re as fast as any sprinter who started running from the day he was born. All I can say Is I hope our bullets help save our heads. The bullets we use are designed by lab scientist and I don’t know how they do it but it serves us well. I can’t sleep this night, I’m scared about tomorrow and Kelly was right, today is Christmas. Somewhat, I’m scared because we weren’t really briefed about tomorrows’ mission and my instincts tell me this is the day we all die at team Lucifer. I have to go now; I think I should watch the night since I can’t sleep. Its D-Cosmos signing out, peace.

image source: Google.com

‘’How you guys doing out here Kelly?’’ I said as I approached the gates.

‘’Well, we’re alive boss, couldn’t sleep?’’ Kelly asked passing me a cigar.

‘’You see, I’ve been thinking, how old were you when you joined the army?’’ I asked after letting out some smoke.

‘’Well, I was twelve but my brother had just died and I lost my mom when we crossed borders so I decided to join teen soldiers to see if one of these days I can see mi mama’’ he relied staring at the blank sky.

‘’What of your dad?’’

‘’well……. I never really knew my dad; I was only told stories.’’ He replied stretching his hand to get the cigar.

‘’What about you big tooth, what’s your story?’’ I asked the second solider on duty.

‘’Sir….’’

‘’No…. stop calling Sir, call me D or boss’’ I said as I smiled a little.

‘’ok D, I joined when I was fourteen, they said I wasn’t ready because I had Juvenile cataract. But when I was thirteen, I met Miss Jones who worked on it and I joined after completing my training just on my fourteenth birthday.’’

Image source: Google.com

‘’D, why are you asking us this all of a sudden?’’ Kelly asked and big tooth turned to look at me.

‘’Are you guys scared of anything?  Do you have fears?’’ I asked resting on a wooden pole.

‘’Yes, I mean aren’t we all?’’ Big tooth said.

‘’Well, I haven’t been since I lost my mom, nothing scares me’’ I replied.

‘’you haven’t been……. What do you mean boss?’’

‘’I am scared…. for you people who still got lives and families out there to go to’’ I said lighting another cigar.

‘’D is something wrong?’’ Kelly asked.

‘’it’s just the three of us here boss, you can tell us. ‘’ Big tooth said.

‘’Ok, don’t you all think it’s weird how Lucifer knows so little of this particular mission we’re headed for tomorrow?’’ I said sounding a little out of tone.

‘’we’re headed for Philippines tomorrow because of a radio signal from survivors and so? What can captain be hiding?’’

‘’He isn’t hiding anything. Think of it, we don’t have radios, we use our comms and the last time we had to send something using a message using a radio, we did it using a helicopter.’’

Image source: Google.com

‘’And if we’re being sent to Philippines because a radio signal came In means a helicopter either crashed or currently is in Philippines”

‘’Exactly big tooth, what helicopter would be in Philippines? We only have three teams left, Team Eagles, The Phoenix and us.’’ I said throwing away the cigar.

‘’Phoenix never leave base, they’re in charge of the borders that lead to base and what do you know about team Eagle boss?’’ Kelly asked.

‘’Last we heard; they were with the supreme.’’

‘’Hold on…. what if the helicopter crashed in Philippines?’’ asked big tooth.

‘’All helicopters are from base and undergo proper check before they’re let to go out, the fault can’t be from base.’’ I said.

‘’The only thing that can bring a helicopter down after leaving base is an Adam and right now D all I think is a class-S took the helicopter down and before the crashed they sent a radio signal’’ Kelly said.

‘’Why would base send us to Philippines if they knew class-S Adams were there, I mean….. they know we’re not fully equipped to take on class-S Adams.’’ Big tooth said and I sensed fear in his voice.

‘’No one knows anything for sure guys, let’s just chill out, Lucifer wouldn’t want us to get in harms way so I think all this should end here, don’t mention this to anyone okay?’’

‘’Yes boss’’ they said at the same time.

I couldn’t say I wasn’t bothered after hearing what they both thought, it could be the truth and it could be all our imaginations but I trust my instincts because it kept me safe till now so right now I know something isn’t right but I’m in no position to say anything.

 

1
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of L0neRider
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for L0neRider
2 years ago

Comments