The Adams: A day Before doom

0 26
Avatar for L0neRider
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Writing, Write, Freewrite, Soldiers, ...

‘’Get up boys……today we hit Philippines’’ That was the captain getting us up.

‘’All load is set so I expect to see you boys at the van in thirty minutes, grab something to eat and for

Heavens sake Phil please brush your mouth’’

Everybody was free and jovial, it’s what happens after Christmas for us. The boys and I couldn’t sleep last night, to some extent I think I scared them but then what captain said this morning before we left confirmed something, it’s either we’re out there against Grade-S Adams or we just had rough thoughts.

‘’So boys, a chopper would be here any minute and there Is an update.’’ The captain started, having this pitiful look in his eyes.

 ‘’What update cap?  do we get to meet our families after we hit Philippines?’’ Tom asked.

‘’Well that’s the thing….we might and  might  not get to see our families’’

‘’Holy bullets captain, that’s what you tell us when we’re about to go on one of those suicide mission like those Adams in Afghanistan, where would it be this time?’’ our sniper, Kelly asked.

‘’Calm yourself down soldier and listen. We would be meeting with the Eagles at Philippines; we would be there as backup.’’

image from Google.com

‘’Back up? Cap I thought you said there was a radio signal and that’s why we’re headed for the Philippines?’’ Kelly asked

At this point everyone was talking, just like I knew it would happen I just stood there staring at them as they attacked the captain with questions and all was In my head was whether to ask questions too or let it slide.

‘’Base would never send out the Eagles until it was something really drastic so captain tell us what we’re up against.’’ Jason said.

‘’I thought you were up me Jason’’ the captain said out of surprise.

‘’I am with you cap but I just wouldn’t head to a place I don’t know anything about, I’m sorry’’

At this point I knew I just had to say something.

‘’Yeah captain, the Eagles? Radio Signals? Something isn’t right’’ I said.

‘’Even you D, have you also lost you mind?’’

‘’No cap!! It’s just that I wouldn’t stand this anymore. I think you’re letting base use you, just tell us what we’re up against Lucifer.’’ I said raising my voice a little as I was clearly getting irritated.

‘’Don’t you dare speak to me that way solider. I am still the captain here and I tell you whatever base tells me to tell you’’ the captain said pointing his pistol at me.

‘’Yeah!!! Is this what it’s about now?’’ I said as I stood up and pressed my head against the mouth of the pistol’’

‘’are you scared of telling us that we’re going up against Grade-S Adams in Philippines?’’

‘’Who told you that’’ he asked in surprise.

‘’Oh, so it is true? You don’t need to tell us captain, we analyzed it, the whole radio signal and all the little briefing about the mission, that just wasn’t the Lucifer I know so I got curious and related with the boys last night when I couldn’t sleep’’

‘’Tell us he’s lying captain’’ Simeon asked.

‘’say it!! say I’m lying’’

‘’shut the hell up!’’ the captain shouted pushing me to the ground.

‘’So what? What If we’re headed to Philippines against some Grade-S Adams? Are we not men enough to hold them off’’ he said?

‘’No captain, it would have been a lot better if you at least old us, about six of us here are total noobs with little battle experience and you expect us to go against some Class-S Adams?’’ Bigtooth said.

‘’I didn’t make the decision, base did.’’ The captain said trying to defend himself.

‘’Well you could have said no and we weren’t through with the Adams in this area’’ I said.

At this moment everyone was silent and all that could be heard were the vultures moving around us. I’d say everyone was deep in thought at this point. I was asking myself a thousand and one questions too, we couldn’t say no to base for real, the last team who did got nuked and no one talks about it again. Surely the captain didn’t want that for us or maybe he was only watching out for himself.

‘’Why does It matter now, the chopper would be here in five minutes, either way we could be dead before now and we could die in Philippines facing those Adams.’’ I said breaking the silence.

image from google.com

‘’’Fine the captain didn’t do the right thing and from all we know we could have been used as bait so the Eagles could take the glory but would we lay low when duty calls?’’ I said and paused to look around me.

The soldiers were all sober and it too all the words from my little brain.

‘’Stand up for yourselves. We all have one or two people rooting for us back at camp. Kelly, you still have your mom somewhere out waiting or searching for you, Big tooth you still haven’t told Miss Jones you’re for what she did to your eyes, Tony you masturbate almost every night, you could still get to see your girlfriend after we make it out of Philippines, Jason you always wanted to be a captain and have your own soldiers, after today, write base a letter and we all would vote for you, every one of us have dreams, friends and families we want to go see so let’s fight in Philippines like our whole lives depend on it because it actually does.’’

image from google.com

I have never given any speech before at any event but these few words I said here gave me a spark in my heart, now I wanted to fight for all these soldiers here and right now they were all getting up and having this spark of light in their eyes. No one knew if they were going to die or survive but we were ready to take these Adams head on.

 

 

 

  

0
$ 1.47
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of L0neRider
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for L0neRider
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Writing, Write, Freewrite, Soldiers, ...

Comments