Every Rescue Cat Has a Story--this is Joey's

0 15
Avatar for L-Ko
Written by
2 years ago

Today, my precious boy, Joey, left me to go to his other forever home. Some people say that he went to the Rainbow Bridge; I don't know where he went. All I know is that he's not with me anymore, and that is a terrible feeling.

I brought Joey to his forever home with me around 15 years ago. Already an adult kitty, he had been living a whole life with his original human mom, Marge.

Marge was an older gal who lived in an assisted living apartment with her boyfriend. Marge loved Joey, but her boyfriend didn't like Joey at all.

The evil boyfriend hated the love and attention that Marge gave Joey. The boyfriend felt that he should have a monopoly on Marge's love and attention.

The evil boyfriend would try to run over Joey with his motorized scooter. He hated Joey, and he made no secret about it.

One afternoon, Marge went to a family celebration at a fancy restaurant. Somehow, Marge lost her balance and fell, crashing through a plate-glass window.

Marge was rushed to the hospital. She managed to survive the severe injuries that she suffered from falling through the huge window, but while in the hospital, Marge contracted an infection. The infection ultimately resulted in Marge's death.

Marge was gone, and Joey was left behind with the evil boyfriend. The bad man told anyone who would listen that he was throwing Joey out on the street immediately. Joey had lost Marge, and soon he would be losing food and shelter.

***

Fifteen years ago, I was at my vet's office with one of my rescue kitties, who was a little under the weather. While I was there, a nice lady was at the front desk telling the receptionist about how her aunt had tragically passed away and how her aunt's evil boyfriend was about to throw her kitty out on the street now that she was no longer around to care for the kitty.

Time was of the essence, so the nice lady was posting a sign at the front desk asking for someone to adopt her aunt's kitty as soon as possible. The kitty's name was Joey.

Upon hearing the story, I turned to her and told her she wouldn't need to post the noticeā€”I would take Joey.

The next day, Marge's niece brought Joey to the vet's office along with a car full of Joey's toys, cat food, and jugs of kitty litter.

We went into a room, and the niece introduced me to Joey. It was love as soon as I held him and he pressed against me.

Joey came home with me that day. He loved to play and tumble with the other cats, and he gave me lots of cuddles and snuggles. He was the best.

***

Today was a typical Tuesday morning, but something was a little off. Joey stayed in his kitty bed later than usual, and when he did get up, he wasn't his usual perky self. Instead, he seemed a little groggy.

A few minutes later, Joey had a stroke. It was a horrible thing to see, but as my husband points out, at least I was there to comfort Joey and to care for him when it happened.

In the past year, I knew that Joey wasn't going to be with us much longer. Joey had stopped grooming himself, and he was getting old and winding down. So I knew he would be leaving me eventually, but I didn't expect it to be today.

I cried and shook as I called a vet to make a house call to help Joey transition to his next adventure. It was about two hours before the vet would arrive, but it felt like forever.

***

Joey passed peacefully and with dignity in my arms. The vet provided the caring and compassionate assistance that Joey deserved and that Marge would have been thankful that he received now that his days with me have ended.

I know that Marge is waiting for him, whether it's at the Rainbow Bridge or in a giant field of green grass where Joey can run and jump and play in the warm sun.

Joey was a simple cat who required very little. He gave his love freely, so I know he will be happy with whatever is waiting for him.

Just as Marge left Joey, Joey has now left me. Today I was reminded how quickly everything could change.

I'll see you one day, my sweet boy. I'll see you on the other side.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for L-Ko
Written by
2 years ago

Comments