Lockdown: Day 32 - How Could I Have Ever Seen This Coming?

1 97
Avatar for Kyouma29
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

*This is a story based on a true account set during the lockdown in India*

Today marks the 32nd day since I last stepped out of my house, but the events that transpired today were rather unexpected for me. One surprising event lead to another, more surprising one. A little background first: I am from New Delhi, India and I have been part of the country-wide lockdown since 22nd March. I never had to step out of my apartment all this time, my father was the one that went out for groceries, and I used the terrace for working out.

As days went by and I got used to the 'confined' space I have been living in, I gradually became enlightened: What if there is no 'Outside'? What if I have been living all my life under this small space and the world that lay before my eyes outside the 'confined' space doesn't actually exist?

Soon enough, I became convinced of it. I once wondered where my father went to get the groceries, but I quickly shut that line of thinking because I didn't want to assume my father was fake as well. Fast-forward to today, and something happened with me I couldn't have anticipated.

My father came back from shopping, and started unloading the goods. It was at this moment that he gasped at the realization of having forgotten an essential ingredient. He was naturally worn out, and so didn't want to go back again. I slowly started processing the situation. I knew what was coming to me.

My mother started speaking to me. "Dread it, run from it, destiny arrives all the same." is all I could hear. My expression probably tightened at that moment, and my brain started working towards excavating an escape route. Unfortunately for me, my resistance was futile and in no time was I standing outside my house.

I looked ahead towards the unreal world with a stern expression. I thought some and came to the conclusion that out of the endless possibilities, there were only two which were more likely. The first one, and the better one in comparison to the second: I would hit an "out-of-bounds" invisible wall. The other possibility was the one I was absolutely afraid of. The possibility that the illusionary world is a void pit and if I cross over to there, I will never be able to come back.

I saw a man walk past me towards the place I suspected to be made of void. In an attempt to save him, I warned him of what lies ahead, but he didn't listen and walked straight over to what could very well end his life! However, to my disbelief, he walked over to the other side just fine. I figured out the situation soon enough, though.

Yes, he was like an NPC in a videogame. The same rules that apply on me, don't on him. He was part of the fake world. I smirked at the thought of having figured this all out so quick. And then I heard it, my father's scream. He was like "Why the hell are you still just outside the home? Go and run the errand quick." It seemed that I had no choice left but to move forth in hopes that I will leave this unharmed.

I stepped ahead and almost collapsed with anxiety when shock took over that I crossed over to the other side. What could it possibly mean? There is a world outside?! Outrageous. And yet now that was undoubtedly the case.

I still haven't figured out all the implications yet, but I understand that my memories weren't fake after all. Though this takes the big assumption that I am not one of those NPCs as well. Mysteries still remain unsolved.

5
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Avatar for Kyouma29
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

Comments

Very well written post! Keep doing what you are doing, waiting for new blogs :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago