How big is crypto?

0 7
Avatar for KopiArticle
2 years ago

Being awfully new to the field of crypto, I can't help and wonder how big crypto is (I mean, there just seems like there's so many whales swimming about) as compared to the traditional financial world (tradfi). In case you are wondering, in this ocean analogy, I'm about the size of a nanoplankton.

So I went digging the internet, and to my dismay, there isn't a straight-forward answer in our current data-driven world. Yes, I found some great stock market capitalisation websites (even some visualisations) but it was as of Dec 2020 which is pretty dated given how volatile both markets are during this pandemic period.

The below data is as of May 2021 as this is the latest period I can find for the stock market capitalisation. Yes - of course I can find the latest data on each stock exchange as of July 2021, but imagine the time it's going to take me to consolidate all of the world's stock exchanges so please bear with the below if you're still interested.

Crypto Market VS Stock Market

You see it right. That small little line is crypto market capitalisation at USD1.6T as of May 2021, compared against a monstrous USD115T in the stock market. Mind you, a trillion still has an astounding 12 zeros in it.

To put things into perspective for people who don't deal with trillion figures:

  • USD1,000 is 0.1% of USD1,000,000 (a million)

  • USD1,000,000 (a million) is 0.0001% of USD1,000,000,000,000 (a trillion)

 

Crypto Market VS Company(s)

Fast forward to the current period (9 Aug) - below is the comparison against some of the largest companies globally.

Apple is the largest company in the world at over USD2T. Even though crypto market is lagging behind, it has already overtaken Amazon and Facebook. On another note, can you imagine just how darn big these companies are - I mean, we're pitting the entire crypto market against a single company.

 

The above is just to satisfy my curiosity (and I hope yours too!) and it really sets things into perspective. The above charts are not official reports as I did not validate the data presented in the references listed below. With that, I hope the majority of us get to grow from (invisible) nanoplankton to (visible) krills in the near future. Cheers all!

 

References:

1. Stock market capitalisation (disclaimer: I inferred the figures of the regions from the diagram as there wasn't actual data available. I made sure it sums up to USD115T as per the total stated in this article): https://focus.world-exchanges.org/statistics/articles/equity-domestic-market-capitalisation

2. Crypto market capitalisation as of 31 May 2021, 11pm: https://coinmarketcap.com/charts/ 

3. Crypto market capitalisation as of 9 Aug (average of 1.77T and 1.83T from 2 websites): https://coinmarketcap.com/, https://www.coingecko.com/en 

4. Companies market caplisation as of 9 Aug: https://companiesmarketcap.com/ 

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for KopiArticle
2 years ago

Comments