The CBT Exam Experience

1 18
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago
Topics: Exam, CBT

My exam was scheduled to commence by 7am at Ivan Ikoku, Owerri, Imo, the place was well situated. I squatted with a friend there on Friday so I left to the place early in the morning, around after 6, 7 am. Few people was there when I came, the center was still locked. So I waited for more time, like say, 30mins when people trooped in more. The examiners later arrived, oned the Lister though it resisted to be oned at first but later responded, opened place and entered to do what I don't know, maybe cleaning and dusting the place. By 8am, they started ordering us to queue to the entrance of the hall, with our facemasks removed and socks removed, (I guess it's to prevent examination malpractice). It was a rigorous process, we struggled to be verified by the examiners in the entrance.

First they took our printout to check if we really have the exam to take, collected ₦1,000 from each of us, and ordered to raise our hands to be searched, but I can't call that thorough search. Later, we were ordered to do thumbprinting which wouldn't have taken much of our time if not for the population taking the mock.

While entering the venue, we were ordered to drop our phones or any material, so I dropped my phone and bag in an instructed place.

After it, we entered to the main exam Hall but not without thorough search again. While entering, I noticed that there were CCTV cameras working in the main entrance of the building, the thumbprinting area, the entrance of the main exam Hall and at the edges of the hall. Not only cameras but ACs, I wanted to freeze in there if not for the massive complaint.

Again, we used desktop to write the exam, some systems weren't working, some were dusty, some keyboards weren't working as people complained. For mine, everything was perfect. We didn't follow seat number again because of the faults but I sat exactly on my seat number, 099 but those there system had fault were relocated to another seat. I guess those seat numbers doesn't matter.

I wasn't with any time when I entered but I can say we started late, probably after 9 or to 10, 7am mass. And they worst part is that I didn't eat while coming to the exam because of anxiety. I advise my colleagues to eat in The main exam. So we were ordered to key in our jamb reg number which was unusually long unlike other years. So we logged in, few instructions on how to write the exam popped out, then ordered to press start exam and behold,the mock started, I felt goosebumps. I jittered and held onto myself.. the CBT environment was not cumbersome, it was simple to understand just like the Myschool CBT APP. The location of the time was at top right, 120mins, not written in hours, the subjects at the top right, mine started with English, the next, previous and submit tabs are situated below left. If one answers the question, the number of the question changes colour, the calculator was at the top centre, the calculator is not that advanced, just addition, multiplication, substraction and Divine and of course with numbers and delete key.

Before we started the exam, we were ordered to use either the keyboard or mouse, for next we were told to press N, for previous P, for submission S, for the options each A,B,C,D represented the options. These were things I learnt already in CBT practice. But nevertheless, I used only mouse.

The question number allocated for each subject were 60 for English, 40 for other subjects making it 180 questions.

The whole process was organized and as I was told, nothing new except the network problem we had when we wanted to start which also took our time. We were given rough paper for solvings and collected back from us after exams. We entered in a different door and left in another. The hall was spacious and beautiful. It's good for examination. I submitted 20 mins before the time and left the hall to see a bigger crowd outside. We stopped writing around 12.

I went and collected my phone and bag and left.

I pray for successful result.

7
$ 2.80
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago
Topics: Exam, CBT

Comments

It's good you experience cbt exam system, you are no longer new to the party now. I wish you success my friend, I believe you will do well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago