Phew! What an Exam

0 25
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago

JAMB UTME 2022 is out!

Finally, JAMB (Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board) has released the much-awaited results of the just concluded UTME. But at the time of writing this post the results have not been released online (JAMB portal), it can only be checked via SMS. To check their UTME result, candidates are to send UTMERESULT to 55019 using the phone number they used to generate their profile code during registration. The details of the result will be received as a response. A service fee of 50 nairas will be charged by the network provider.

Let's are another exam experience today.

The location and time of my UTME were at Holy Rosary, Akokwa, and by 7 am.

I have located the center 2 days before the exam so locating it on my exam day wasn't an issue.

I got there after 6 am though it was a bit dark.

Few people were there so I wasn't alone.

The Centre was located in a busy environment but the center was distinguished except for the big gen or is it called Milkano that developed a fault. They brought whatever they fill inside the Milkano, diesel or fuel, I didn't confirm and put it to start, it didn't start, and they kept on trying until it responded.

When we entered the building, security men searched us and told us to wash our hands in an appointed place and to put on nose marks too. I complied and followed others to a room where we sat till they started verifying us by checking the printout, doing thumbprinting, and collecting bags or any foreign material.

Later the verification, we were ordered to go upstairs for our exams, it was a storey building. So we trooped in.

Getting there, another search was conducted and the hall was super spacious. You could stretch both arms without touching anyone. I sat at the edge of the hall.

CCTV cameras were in each corner but I can't tell for sure if they are working. They looked like they were working anyways.

We waited for other candidates I think so because everything was in order. No glitches, no malfunctioning of keyboards or mouses as far as I noticed.

Then we started shortly after, we were shown a video on how to answer the exam. The video entails:

Using A= For option A

B= option B

C= option C

D= option D

S= Submit

P= Previous Question

N= Next question

and how to log in.

Then we were told to press next, that was the time for logging in. I put my Reg. No. and it showed my questions and my picture on the left.

The calculator was at the top center, the 120mins time at the top right, and the subjects at the top left.

The Previous and Next buttons were at the bottom left. English had 60 questions and other subjects had 40.

We were also told by the invigilators to use mouse if we wished to.

The CBT environment was not that different from other years and there wasn't anything new about the exam.

The invigilators were 6; 4 strict males and 2 more strict ladies.

Though we started and finished early it didn't begin by 7 am and end by 9 am as planned. The only material we were allowed to take was a pen or pencil, no paper but I took my printout in, alongside others.

The calculator is just too simple, it featured plus, minus, division and multiplication, and of course numbers. no square root and other advanced features.

I exhausted 115 minutes of my time. Many have left already. After submitting, I saw on my computer screen, "You can now leave the examination hall". Before I could start going out of the hall, the few people that were left there to finish their time started crying saying that their system has automatically turned off. What do they expect, time has elapsed. They were cautioned against noise making and ordered out of the hall.

Apart from that, every process was smooth and steady except for my aching stomach.

I didn't eat before going.

5
$ 3.91
$ 3.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Fexonice1
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago

Comments