More Smart Work, More Results

0 12
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

It's day 5 of the second month of the year. Nothing will change in the rest of the year if you delay changing personally.

Last night, I got a call from my workplace where I was paid 14,000 Naira (about $27) as a monthly salary for working 8 am to 5 pm (Monday - Friday).

About the job.

From May to August 2021, I worked in an organization where I had to report for work by 7:30 am and sign out between 4 pm-5 pm. Aside from that, I had to work on weekends to prepare ahead for the coming week.

To be honest, it was the most hectic 4 months of my life. Even the 'kiti kiti & kata kata' of attending a Nigerian university couldn't compare.

As a diligent man, I gave in my best but the pay after 30 days wasn't sufficient for anything. The only reason I stayed longer on the job was that I needed to use the pay to get constant internet data as I was intentionally working on some digital skills.

By end of July, I had drafted my resignation letter and submitted it to my head. I remember some of my colleagues who tried to talk me out of my decision to resign from the job. It seemed irrational because I told them I'd be working fully from my Smartphone after leaving.

I ended up offering to pay one of them 20,000 naira in 3 months if she agreed to work on building a digital academy with me. It was crazy but I meant it then but as you would guess they rejected the offer.

The CEO of the organization called me one day and said he was giving me 7 days to think properly about my decision and come back to the job. I saw the genuine concern he had for me but my mind was made up. I wanted to be responsible for how much I made daily, weekly, monthly, and annually.

I wanted to celebrate myself for making a target figure and also blame myself for doing less.

Fast forward to this day, my Smartphone has been my office and we have 'doings' together. We have commented with over 3000 persons in over 20 countries of the world. It has got me some good amount in profit. We have also paid some good amounts to others. We have met really amazing people too.

It's the freedom that comes with being able to do what I love at the time I want for me. And of course, getting to meet amazing people and building formidable networks online.

Meanwhile, I'm still learning how this money moves online. When it starts coming in you'd know.

But how does this gist even concern you? Well, follow closely.

Yesterday, I went to see the CEO of that organization and he offered me the highest pay amongst all his staff. He said I could work part-time (working on my terms) and some other cool stuff... All I did was grin and told him 'Thank you sir but I won't be able to work here even though I'd like to do so.'

Simply put: I left him with a shock on his face without offending him.

The morale from this little gist

  1. Pay attention to yourself: know what you want and be willing to legitimately do what it takes to get it. The struggle is really all by yourself with others but against anyone.

  2. Nobody is coming to save you: learn a high-income skill to be on the safe side. The earlier you do this, the better for you.

  3. Take up a job if possible: don't work a job to settle down with a salary. Use it to fund your skill and business. It will pay more.

  4. Stop belittling your smartphone: you have a powerful tool in your hand. If you keep letting excuses stop you from doing the needful, you'd only end up regretting it.


The message of the Day: Don't stop learning but pay more attention to executing all you've learned so far. Nobody cares about what you know till you act on them and birth results. Less talk, more productivity. More smart work, more results.

7
$ 3.63
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments