JAMB UTME 2022: Strategies to Beat the Exam

1 30
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago
Topics: JAMB, JAMB UTME 2022, UTME, CBT, Education, ...

I want to believe all is set for the JAMB 2022 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) which commences May 6, 2022. It is expected that JAMB, its CBT centers, security officials, and candidates have adequately prepared for the exams.

For some days, we have shared talking points about the experiences of some candidates during the JAMB Mock that was held on April 9, 2022. Today, we'll share the strategies that have helped some candidates excel in the JAMB UTME.

Let's get to it.

Strategies to beat JAMB UTME

One thing I learned during my CBT practice and decided to always put to use is to leave the use of English for the last because it contains comprehension passages and more questions than other subjects so I put it on hold. Answering the other subjects gives me enough time to finish, go back to the Use of English, and even ample time to cross-check before submitting my work.

And you can answer The English language questions on time. If so, the technique is to leave comprehension questions and answer all other questions on the use of English and then come back to the comprehension passages. For the comprehension passages, I find that it always helps to read the question before reading the passage. This makes it easier for you to easily locate whatever it is you're looking for in the passage and it is a great method for those that quickly scan through a passage although complete understanding is definitely encouraged..lol😋.

I also use mental timing and don't look at the time stipulated on the system every time 😅. I find that it puts you on unnecessary edge and pressure that you don't need in an examination. What I do is I check my time every time I complete a subject and not every time I answer 1 or 2 questions. It definitely helps to be relaxed and calm.

Even if the time is almost up still... farabalẹ and answer your questions because being calm is a great factor in ensuring you get correctly those questions that you even attempted before the time was up😊

That said, I'll say that what subject you start with depends on you. Some people prefer starting with the hardest subject while others prefer starting with the simplest ones. Also as aforementioned focusing on the time pressures you, and sometimes lead you to answer the questions wrongly when you know the correct answers. Take your exams off the timer, but don't forget there is time. Put simply, be aware of the time but don't focus on it.

In the case of not knowing the answer to any question, you can try the elimination method. Eliminate options you are confident are not correct, this leaves you with fewer options to pick from.

Nervous during exams?

Let's read how David shakes off his nervousness during examinations.

"I get easily nervous that my brain could get stuck so d first thing I do is to calm down for a minute and take some deep breaths before starting and ensure my hands are not shaking by rubbing my palms together. It prevents my nervousness from ruining my exam. I also start with subjects that involve more calculation and then proceed to those with little to no calculation. This is because towards the end of an exam I get nervous again when the time is running out, then I can't calculate with a clear mind. I understood myself and came up with this strategy and during my JAMB exam, I submitted with 13 minutes left and scored 269 in jamb. You have to understand yourself and do what works for you.

That's it for today. Good luck to all candidates.

7
$ 3.77
$ 3.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago
Topics: JAMB, JAMB UTME 2022, UTME, CBT, Education, ...

Comments

When you start answering your question in exactly time they gave, you will beat the exam strategies, unlike me I will go through the question that I know and I will start answering it before I will go through the hardest ones

$ 0.00
1 year ago