Bitcoin Cash: Some People Prefer to Suffer Thirst

7 38
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Bitcoin Cash

The saying;

You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink

Simply means that you can give someone a good opportunity or make something easy for someone to do, but you can't force them to take it or do it. Even favourable circumstances won't force one to do something one doesn't want to. The choice of action is always theirs and some prefer to suffer in thirst.

You can lead someone to Bitcoin cash (and even give them BCH) but you can't force or make them avail it.

Original image source

David's flatmate and coursemate James is struggling to pay his rent and make ends meet in school. He is in search of ways to make money online or offline. Since he has a phone and already spends a lot of time on the internet, David told him about noise.cash and read.cash, how he has been earning some money for upkeep from it (with proofs of his earnings) and how he too can join to make some money that will help him take care of some of his needs in school. He even went further to give him $4 to assist him with an internet data subscription for the time it will take him to start earning from the recommended platform.

Instead, James preferred to stake the money on sports betting to make quick money, but he lost the money. When David found out, he confronted him about it. In his defence James said;

"Guy, I appreciate your help and I'm sorry for not heeding your recommendation. It's just that, the cash things you suggested are not my type of thing..."

This is the same person that wastes a lot of time posting, reading and commenting on posts on Facebook and Twitter.

Well, “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink".

The headline of this post was inspired by @Porwest 's comment on my post "If Bitcoin Cash Doesn't Make me Money, I Don't Care". He shared his perspective on the topic and it added more meaning to the post. See his comment below:

Convincing anyone to "change their ways," or to "change their views" is always a very daunting and difficult task. I am a stock market guy. I have been doing it for 30+ years. I have made a very good portion of my wealth from it. And being that I have a long experience with it, and know that while it can seem complicated at first, once you "learn the ropes," all the ins and outs and strategies. How to write covered calls, how to jump stocks for dividends, how to hedge to mitigate risk and how to short to reduce losses, or make a profit—it becomes like second nature. It becomes easy. And of course, I know the opportunity it has afforded me over time.

Try telling that to someone else. It's tough. It's tougher to get the message across. You get all sorts of begrudgers and naysayers. "You just got lucky." No. I actually learned my way around the markets. "You have money, I can't afford to invest." Yes, but I only have money NOW because I invested what little I had before.

For me, there is one simple reason that I am into cryptocurrency at all. Albeit, it only represents 1% of my total wealth—the rest of my money is in places I know very well and know how to make the most from. I am not interested in safety. My money has always been relatively safe. I am not interested in secrecy. I have nothing to hide. I am not even interested in low transaction costs. My fiat costs me nothing to use.

I am in it because I do see things about it that indicate that MAYBE there is a potential there to increase my wealth a bit. While crypto does not move the same way as stocks do, it still moves. Up, down, sideways...

All I need to do is to understand fundamentally what drives value in crypto like I understand what drives value in stocks. If I can do that, I can make money. I can increase my bottom line. I can create profits that I can use to further increase my stock positions at some point.

The fact that I can also EARN it (crypto) for doing things I already love to do is also an incentive to get on board with some of it, even if it is not intended to be, nor do I ever think it will be my greatest source of income or wealth building.

In the stock market, I don't like to miss opportunities. Not if I can help it. I have watched crypto over the past 12 years and although I only recently got INTO it, I have seen things it does that lead me to believe I probably want to have at least a little bit of skin in the game.

How can I, or you, relate this message to someone and sell them on the idea of it all? Anybody's guess. You can lead a horse to the water but you can't force him to drink. And some people just prefer to suffer thirst ~ Porwest

Source

Bitcoin Cash Is for everyone, not for anyone.

Everyone is allowed to have BCH, but not everyone will have it.

Sometimes, no matter how hard you try to convince someone to take advantage of an opportunity, it ends in futility. You did your best, but their mind is already made up. They may be polite enough to hear you out and even contribute positively to the discussion, but deep down, they don't care what the opportunity you preach will offer them. You've taken the horse to water, it's up to it to take water or suffer thirst.

Did you like this post? Please leave feedback in the comments section.

You may also like:


I want to take this opportunity to thank @HappyBoy for the sponsorship. The first of more to come.

8
$ 5.96
$ 5.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @Porwest
+ 3
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Bitcoin Cash

Comments

Your last passage about everyone being allowed to have BCH, but not anyone having it resonates bigly with me. Because that is how have I always viewed the stock market, and my apologies for continuing to go there despite these articles being about crypto. But it is what I know. It is what I can relate to. And I think it also relates to the topic.

Everyone is allowed to participate in the stock market, but only certain people will. Goes right back to my comment you mentioned on the former post. Some people just prefer to suffer the thirst. While opportunity is right there in front of them, there for the taking, not all people will have the interest or the fortitude to take it on.

Your story about the guy you tried to help is a very telling one as well. I think too many people try to look for the easy way to make money, when in reality they are going about it the HARD way. They put so much time and effort into the quick buck failing to see the REAL money.

Another very engaging and very interesting article, and I really do look forward to reading more. And thank you very much for the mention. I really do appreciate that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for another wonderful contribution. Your previous comment inspired this post. So thanks for giving me something to write about.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some of the people I refer read cash to are like James I showed them the platform but they want to start earning quickly no patience atall

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything takes time, as it should. Some people will forever fail to understand that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's people for you. They aren't patient enough for a new opportunity to become successful. They give up easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article, I have tried several times to help people by introducing BCH to them and spending time to teach them how to earn it either by writing article or simply making noise, just after a week they gave up saying they don't have the time. But these are people that spend most of the time browsing Facebook and chatting on WhatsApp groups everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Priorities. The same people will complain of no money to buy food or data or textbooks in school. Well, you can lead a horse you water u you can't force it to drink.

$ 0.00
2 years ago