Process of Static and Rip routing

0 27
Avatar for Kitki
Written by
3 years ago

Today I am going to discuss and show the absolute process of static and rip routing.

Here I have been given an ip address 192.168.0.0/27 and host needed 12, 7 and 8. Here I will have to use 2 routers. Now I'll need to find the network id and subnet mask for the corresponding host needed.

I can do it manually but for simplicity I will use a website here. Here's the link:

VSLM calculator: https://subnettingpractice.com/vlsm.html

Now I will enter the given data into the website and it will show me the results.

I have entered the data and once I will click on submit it will show me the results.

One more thing I will be needed that I won't get from the website. That is the router's ip. Here I have to use two routers. And after manually calculating it, I have found the router's network id is 192.168.0.49 and the router's ip are 192.168.0.49 and 192.168.0.50

Now I will open packet tracer and will start the next process.

Here I have opened my packet tracer of version 7.3. If you want to work on any other versions that's okay too.

Okay, now I will make the networks there.

I have taken routers, switches and pcs all of PT. Because they are easy to work with. Now I will take the cables. It's safer and easier to use the auto connection. Because it takes all the corresponding connections and you need not to worry witch connections will be between the two devices.

So this is how my networks looks after taking the connections. Now I'll put notes of the devices' information like host numbers, ip address, network address, subnet masks and so on.

Here the router's port that's connected with the network has an ip address and it's the first valid host of the network by default. And I have given the last valid host ip address to the pcs. I have also marked the fast ethernet numbers, the network id and the subnet id. Here the router5 has clock so marked it too. This task is optional. It's not necessary for the routing. But it will help you not to mess with the whole thing while writing command. That's why I prefer it much to note down everything.

In this stage I will configure the ip address of the pc. I will click on each pc and go to the desktop. There I will find the ip configuration. I will put the ip address, subnet mask and the gateway. The DNS server will be by default in this version of packet tracer. Here I want to mention that the gateway will be the router's port address connecting to the networks.

In this stage I will write command in the CLI of the router. First I will write command to connect with the networks where's the end device connects (LAN).

Look at the LAN connection, the connection with the switch and the router. It is established now as the signals has been green from red.

The commands I wrote for this (for Router 6):

Router>enable

Router#conf t

Router(config)#int fa0/0

Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.0.17 255.255.255.240

Router(config-if)#no shut

end

Router#conf t

Router(config)#int fa1/0

Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.0.33 255.255.255.240

Router(config-if)#no shut

end

Now I will do the WAN the router-router connection. Here I will have to put the ip address of the routers and also have to take the interface with serials and to remember the clocks. I will take the clock rate 56000 here.

I have wrote commands and the router's connections has been established. Command I wrote for the Router 5 (with clock)

Router#conf t

Router(config)#int s2/0

Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.0.49 255.255.255.252

Router(config-if)#clock rate 56000

Router(config-if)#no shut

Router(config-if)#end

Command I wrote for the Router 6:

Router#conf t

Router(config)#int s2/0

Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.0.50 255.255.255.252

Router(config-if)#no shut

Router(config-if)#end

Now all the connections have been established and I will do routing. At first I will do the static routing. I will take everything default for simplicity. Here the thing we have to remember that while routing the first router we'll have to find out the port using that the router connects to the other router. So, let's command:

For the first router:

Router#conf t

Router(config)#int s2/0

Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.0.50 255.255.255.252

Router(config-if)#no shut

Router(config-if)#end

For the second router:

Router#conf t

Router(config)#int s2/0

Router(config-if)#ip add 192.168.0.50 255.255.255.252

Router(config-if)#no shut

Router(config-if)#end

Now I will pass message. First it will show failed and after deleting the results if I pass message again, it will show successful. So, don't worry.

Now let's delete the result and do it again.

Look this time when I deleted the results and did it again it shows the message passing successful. So, My static routing works!

Now let's do the rip routing. I will have to write command in the CLI of the router this time too. Here the different thing is that in the static routing we only connected with the port of the other router. In rip routing we will have to write commands for all the networks connected with the router. Here the router 5 has 2 networks with it and the router 6 has 3 networks.

For router 5

Router#conf t

Router(config)#router rip

Router(config-router)#version 2

Router(config-router)#network 192.168.0.0

Router(config-router)#network 192.168.0.48

Router(config-router)#end

For router 6

Router#conf t

Router(config)#router rip

Router(config-router)#version 2

Router(config-router)#network 192.168.0.48

Router(config-router)#network 192.168.0.16

Router(config-router)#network 192.168.0.32

Router(config-router)#end

Rip routing is done too!

Now one thing is left and that is to check it both of the routing is working properly. For this I will write a command "show ip route" and it will show the directions if it's working or not.

So the result is here

If we want to ping:

The ping work successfully and no packet is lost. So, this is the safest and easiest way of doing static and rip routing. This way they can easily be execute successfully.

Here the commands are not too much. But the consistency of the work is very important. And though the notes are not important, if you are beginner I will recommend you to make notes before writing commands.

2
$ 1.96
$ 1.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kitki
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kitki
Written by
3 years ago

Comments