The Tale of the Two Princes : Princess Amelie's Past │ Part 12

4 42
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

"Amelie! The dough! Hurry up. You're slower than a sloth!" Marites yelled as she preheated the brick oven.

"Here, mother!" Amelie said, hurryingly taking the dough to the large prepping table.

A poor baker named Marites lived in a little village below the palace of the kingdom of Maldonia with her 8-year-old daughter Amelie. Their lives in that kingdom are difficult because their markets are competitive, and their sales are declining every day.

As a result, she is compelled to work two or more jobs at the same time in order to raise her daughter alone after her spouse died of illness. Every day, she baked, and every night, she cleaned houses. She had a lot of debts and bills to pay, a child to feed, and a little business to run and maintain. She doesn't even recognize herself. She's just in her 40s, yet she appears like an elderly lady in her 60s.

"Well, well, if it isn't poor Marites, I finally found you after days of you hiding from me," the obese lady says as she enters Marites' modest bakery.

"Good morning, Mrs. Greta. How are you today? I-I'm not hiding from you; I've just been really busy lately due to my multiple jobs." Marites said, smiling bitterly.

"Oh, please. Let's get to the point. When will you pay me? You're not paying me even a quarter from your perforated pocket for renting this place, and you owe me money that you spent to treat your husband, who died eventually, even if your back is twisted from paying for his medicine." Mrs. Greta mocked.

"How could you disrespecting my late husband like that? It's not because I owe you some money that you have the right to belittle us as if we were your property!!" Marites exclaimed.

"How dare you to talk back? You promiscuous lady!—" Mrs. Greta shouted.

Marites' face was beaten and her hair was pulled out of the bakery in front of a large crowd. Amelie is just weeping and trying to drag her mother away from that fat lady. No one wants to interfere because they don't want to be dealt with Mrs. Greta's wrath since practically all of the residents there owe her money.

"Make way for the King!" one of the guards ordered.

Mrs. Greta threw Marites on the ground and began to fix her hair and dust herself as if nothing had happened. Without saying anything, the king patted Marites' head as if he were petting a puppy and held out his hand to help her up.

"Take them in the carriage," the king commanded.

Marites and Amelie were taken to the castle by the king. He dressed and fed them as though they were royalty. They ate the delicacies and slept in the beds that they couldn't fathom living in.

Before leaving the castle, Marites and Amelie decided to make bread for the king as a sign of gratitude for his kindness. When it was done, they took it to the king's bedroom in the castle's north wing.

"Knock!" Marites said. "May I enter, Your Majesty?"

"Come in," the king replied.

"I brought you some bread I had just baked, Your Majesty, and I have yet to thank you for the kindness you have shown to us."

"Sit down," the king said.

"You know what, I was about to go to your bakery that day when I saw you getting beaten, and one of my servants had given me some of your bread before, and I can't forget the taste of it since then, so I personally came to you." he added.

"That made me the happiest," Marites murmured, tears welling up in her eyes.

"And since the day you stayed here in the castle, my heart has grown closer to you, and I believe you're the one I've been looking for; be my wife and the queen of this kingdom, Marites."

They married soon after. Marites expected a better life for herself and her daughter by the side of the king, but the opposite happened. Suddenly the king changed.

"Mother!!!" wailed Amelie as she clutched her battered mother on the ground.

"You wench! I'll kill you both the next time I see you talking with that gardener!" the king exclaimed.

"I promise mother, I'll do whatever it takes to bring you out of this hell, even if it means selling my soul to the demon." Amelie stated.

Yellow! 💛

Sabi na'ng masama yung makipag-chismisan e. Lol.

Aren't the past few installments becoming intense? At long last! After six months of writing and procrastinating, this series will come to a close next week, and I hope you stayed with it to the end.

Have a great day, you. Santé!

What to read next?

3
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

Comments

You can’t really simply judge a book by its cover, eh? Oh villain life bub hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. But it's kinda fun being a villain bub. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is! Dark force is pretty sometimes 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most times actually. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago