The Music Box [RRFB]

2 29
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

The phone rings.

"Hello?" I said as I picked up the phone.

"Is this Ms. Eloise Clarke?" asked the person on the other end of the line.

"Who's this?" I wondered out loud.

"This is Nurse Albert Parker of Brooklyn Medical Hospital, I hate to say this but your grandfather, Mr. Teddy Clarke, is admitted here and is in a coma."

"W-What?"

I was so shocked that I forgot to ask the person on the other end of the line what had happened to Gramps. I was shocked. I don't know how my grandfather ended up like that. I just talked to him on the phone yesterday while he was rebuilding my childhood treehouse, and now he's in a coma?

I packed my stuff and booked a flight to New York. Fortunately, there is a flight available tonight at 8:00 p.m., and I am already at the hospital at 2:00 a.m. if my flight is not delayed due to the snowstorm.

Riding in an Uber kinda reminds me of my childhood. Every Sunday, my dad dropped me off at my grandfather's house, my mom's dad. My grandmother and mother died on the same day when I was born, so I never met them.

My Granny died in an accident. She went to a bank, which was robbed, and she was gunned down as a hostage. My mom was shocked when she saw the news that cause her water broke. She gave birth to me and then died after she saw me wailing in her chest.

Gramps raised me as a child after what happened because my dad is always busy. It seems that he blames me for my mother's death but did not say so straight to me. Despite this, Gramps loved me as if I were his own child. He has always been there for me throughout my life. He always tells me stories about his teenage years, about being chased by pretty girls, but my Granny is different from all of them. She's feisty like a lioness but really smart.

He was always swooning over Granny, even though he was old and hadn't seen her in years. He described her as the most beautiful woman he's ever met, the best cook, the best mother and wife, the most genuine, caring, and the most loving person.

People's lives are indeed short. It is not calculated by a person's age. Some say, "You're young, and you've got a long way to go in life," but I totally disagree. A person can die as a baby, as a teenager, in their 30s or 50s. You're lucky to have reached 65 without suffering from arthritis, diabetes, or, worst, cancer.

At a young age, I realized that money and intelligence cannot save you from death. You could lose your life with the snap of a finger. You'll never be able to get away from that. It's not a ride in a theme park where you can pay Him to live longer. That is not how it works. So, if you woke up this morning, savor it. Be thankful. That is not something that everyone can have.

“Ladies and gentlemen, NLBN Airlines welcomes you to New York City. The local time is 1:08 a.m. For your safety and the safety of those around you, please remain seated with your seat belt fastened and keep the aisle(s) clear until we are parked at the gate...”

The announcement on the plane interrupts my thoughts. Finally, I'm home. I called a cab and told the driver to take me to the hospital as quickly as possible, which he did. I dashed to the hospital's reception to look for the ICU.

I saw my loving Gramps lying there with bruises all over his body and a head bandage.

"Ms. Clarke?" someone behind me asks.

"Can you tell me what happened to my grandfather?" I asked the doctor.

"He lost his brakes and crashed into an abandoned house. Because he has large blood clots, we must perform Craniotomy surgery. We need to make a hole in his skull to get to his brain and repair the damage. He is now in a coma due to a brain injury. So far, her vitals are fine, but we need to act quickly before it's too late," she answered.

I cried out of pain, despair, and regret. Why did I leave him to study abroad when I could just as easily study here?

"Here, Ms. Clarke, your grandfather was holding this music box in her hand when the ambulance arrived to rescue him," the doctor said as she handed me the small music box. "Please excuse me,"

I took it. It's vintage and lovely. It has a wood carving design and a gold cylinder with protruding pins that pluck the individual prongs of a gold comb to play music. I opened the lid and started spinning the gold cylinder. It has a delightful melody. I'm captivated by it, and I'm curious what it means for Gramps.

I closed the lid and realized I was no longer in the hospital room. I'm sitting in some kind of waiting room. Everyone is odd. They're dressed in vintage dress that I've only seen on silver screens in the 1960s. They looked at me as if I were the strange one out. I get to my feet and look around, surprised to see someone I recognize, my grandmother.

"Is there anything I can help you, Miss?" Granny said.

She is incredibly beautiful. I could spend an entire day staring at her face. Her hair is short and curly, and she has thick brows and eyelashes, as well as shiny hazel eyes, a pointed nose, and crimson lips. Her skin is flawless and light. She is 5'2" tall and has a slim body. No wonder Gramps is always swooning over her.

"M-Miss?"

"Oh, hi. Uhm. A-Are you Aurella Clarke?" I asked.

"Uhm. Do I know you, child?"

Suddenly, a gang of robbers stormed into the bank. Everyone panicked and the bad guys ordered everyone to get down on their knees. They ask the manager for the bank's money, but the manager refuses, so one of the robbers grabs my granny's hand, wraps his arm around her neck, and points a gun at her. Everyone screams.

I trembled and had no idea what to do. I sobbed. I begged them to let go of my grandmother. Instead, the robber aimed his gun at the ceiling and pulled the trigger. I pleaded even more and attempted to persuade the robber. Then my grandmother stomped on the robber's foot and tried to get away; when he was about to shoot my grandmother, I shielded her with my body and was shot.

I passed out in my grandmother's arms.

"Eloise? Eloise!!... She passed out! Teddy, I told you not to let her climb up that tree house again! My poor grandchild," Screams rang out.

When I opened my eyes, I saw everyone. My mom and granny, whom I've only seen in photographs, as well as my dad and gramps. I'm not sure how it happened. I'm not sure if I'm just dreaming, but it's a miracle. It's magic.

Heyow!

I saw a music box on Pinterest and immediately thought of a story to go with it. I hope I succeeded and you enjoyed it. It's an open-ended-story. You can write the ending and I'll be delighted to read it. Simply tag me if you do.

See you in my next post!

Edit:

Hey! I wrote a part 2. Check it out here.

2
$ 0.26
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

Comments

You're reslly great at this kind of game. Hihi you never ceases to amaze me 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hihi, thank you, bub! Always. 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago