Panganay Things [Firstling Things]

9 169
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Experiences, Story, ...

Some insist that the eldest child is the luckiest of all the children a parent can have. Because it is their first child, parents are extra sensitive and cautious. They tend to pay more attention to them and teach them everything they know. But being the family's eldest child carries a lot of weight. That child must be patient, and calm in stressful situations.

Panganays or eldests are usually responsible, people pleasers, perfectionists, the leader, bossy, stubborn, goal oriented, fighter, emphatic, observant, and independent. They have to be that way because they are expected to take on more responsibility at such a young age.

As a result, the mental health of every Panganay suffers. Their lives are stressful because their parents expect their firstborn to lead the family when they are unable to do so. It's as if they're forming a third parent for the family. A parent to the children they did not bear.

Despite this, there are some "privileges" to being the eldest. I know this because I am Panganay too. Here are some examples based on my own experiences:

1. More popular among parents' old friends

We have lots of photos in the album of different people carrying me when I was a kid. It's as though I'm everyone's baby that time. And when I encountered those people as I grew older, they told me different stories about me and were surprised that it felt like yesterday when they carried me in their arms and now they've seen me as a grown-up.

That's a little awkward, but it's nice to hear how much they adored you as a child.

2. The first to make a selection

I'm also the eldest child not just in my family, but also among my cousins. So, every time we have a family gathering, I'm the first one to get the food and choose my chosen size of the delicacies.

When it comes to my sister, however, when my parents ask me to choose between two options, I always choose the one that my sister does not want to make her happy because I have spent my entire life making the greatest choice.

3. Experienced everything firsthand

I'm the first to learn everything. I was also got to meet my grandfather on my father's side before he died, rather than my sister. I was able to enjoy my parents' birthdays and anniversaries before my sister. Those boosted my ego and vanity because I knew something my sister didn't.

4. The Superhero

"I can bully my sister all I want, but you can't". I know I always pick fights with my sister. She is, after all, obstinate. When she doesn't follow my rules, we erupt like two stars colliding. However, I am the only one who can do that; if someone else planned to, say your prayers.

I was in fifth grade when my sister started pre-school at the same school as mine, so I would always go to her classroom and pick her up and hold her like I was her parent as we went home.

Someone bullied my sister when she was in first grade and I was in sixth grade, my final year at that school. So I went to her classroom to pick her up and find the person who was bullying her. I spoke with the kid and told him that I was going to call his mother and the principal to have him expelled from school. He listened and stopped bullying my sister.

That was the first time I felt like an adult. Since that day until now, whenever my sister is in trouble, I've always been there to help her.

5. In-charge when parents aren't home

"The younger ones had to listen to you." You could pretty much make them do whatever you wanted because you were the oldest in the house. You don't have to get up from the couch to get snacks; ask the younger ones to do it for you. Eldest privileges. *wink*

6. The Standard and Role model

Some might think of eldest child as a guinea pig, an experimental instrument to see if whatever decision we make would lead to a great outcome that our younger siblings will follow, or the other way around.

However, you will get to try more things before your siblings. You are the coolest child ever because you are the one they look up to; they may be jealous of you, but even if they don't acknowledge it, you are their idol. So, if you want to be the responsible eldest among your siblings, consider what you show them.

7. You convince them that anything you say is true

Most Panganays are independent in different ways; in my case, my parents allow me do whatever I want and when I fail, they let me fix the problem on my own to teach me to be cautious of any decisions I make.

As a result, my younger sister believes and considers what I will say if I am already in such situation.

8. You are aware of what is going on without having to ask everyone in the house

Panganays are more observant than others because caring for your younger sibling gave you a parental instinct. My sister is barely six years old and I am only ten when my parents let me to care of her at school, so I am aware that someone or something could harm us so I must be more vigilant.

Because of those situations, I learnt to be more aware of not only danger but also of people's body language. So, even if my parents didn't tell us what was wrong, I already knew.

9. Your decision is important in your parents eyes

Since my parents allow me to make decisions for myself, and not to brag, 9 out of 10 decisions I made had an advantageous effect, so when my parents had to make a huge decision, they will always ask for my opinions and take them into consideration.

Of course, it feels good that my voice is being heard. I'm grateful to my parents for raising me in this manner; it's just that the world became increasingly cruel to me as I grew older.

10. When your siblings are afraid to tell your parents, they will seek your advice

My dad is in the military when I was in college and my sister was in highschool, therefore my sister is kinda scared of him when she asks for permission. Isn't it easier to stroll up to your elder sister and ask that she tell your parents what you're implying?

Also, it's easier to share your secrets to someone closer to your age, which is why my sister tells me most of hers. Some Panganays use such secrets to blackmail their younger siblings in order to get what they want; I admit, I do it too; sometimes she gets angry because she doesn't understand why I do it, but she's unaware that it's for her own benefit.

Heyow!

I don't know what to what to write anymore, yet this sticks with me. As the eldest child of my parents, I have spent the most of my life whining about my circumstances.

But last Saturday, my father came over and invited me out to lunch. We chatted about life there, and he made me understand how fortunate I am to be their eldest child. After all, it's not always miserable.

5
$ 0.15
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @SuperJulalaine
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

Yet I'm so proud of you being so strong and independent panganay bubba 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But ironically, tamed by the youngest Hahaha! 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the oldest among my siblings too and sometimes I get suffocated by it😖

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha like what

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I felt that. 😔 We can do this! Fighting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Panganay ka pala. Same tayo 🤣. Kaya galingan mo pa sa "tv creatives" mo while enjoying. Love the ferrel brothers lol.

Nung inaway yong kapatid ko nung grade 2, hindi ko na inaway yong student. Mukhang kawawa e 😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, yes. Hehe. Ay ibang Kirsten yon. Hahahha!

Hahaha! Di ko rin naman inaaway, Pinagsasabihan lang hahahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha buti nagbago story nyo kc nung una nakakainis yong mga bullies friends mo sa TV, sssssshhh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap maging panganay na anak kasi minsan sila yung mas malaki ang sakripisyo para sa mga kapatid nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. One of the biggest responsibility yun. 😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago