Where is Chemistry, there is a Lab

0 32
Avatar for Kingslayer
1 year ago

Yesterday was another busy day for me. Because yesterday was my and my group mates' chemistry lab date.

Our lab expert sir warned the day before yesterday, "All students of the group must be present by 9 am, otherwise no one will be allowed to enter the lab room".

So I woke up early yesterday morning and freshened up and left for the varsity. I reached 10 minutes before nine o'clock. Then the lab class started and I got busy with my experiments.

I mentioned in the previous article that although I don't like studying, I like doing chemistry lab experiments. I find joy here.

Then sir gave us directions about the experiment and each of us started working on our respective experiment.

My experiment was, "Determination of the absorption curve of colored substances solution."

How did I do my experiment?

First Step: For Potassium Dichromate in Water:

I took five 100ml conical flasks. In the first of which I took 55 milliliters of potassium dichromate and 95 milliliters of water (to make a total of 100 milliliters). In the second flask, I took 10 ml of potassium dichromate and 90 ml of water. 15 ml of potassium dichromate in the third flask and 85 ml of water in the fourth flask 20 mL of potassium dichromate and 80 mL of water. The fifth flask was filled with 25 ml of potassium dichromate and 75 ml of water.

Image: K2Cr2O7 in water

Second Step: Potassium dichromate in acid (sulfuric acid):

The second step is the same as the first step. I used sulfuric acid in step 2 instead of water in step 1! That is, it is clear that there is very little difference between the first step and the second step and the task was very simple.

Image: K2Cr2O7 in H2SO4

Third Step:

I need to calculate absorbance for potassium dichromate in water and potassium dichromate in sulfuric acid. So I took the help of a Spectrophotometer to measure absorbance. Because a spectrophotometer can detect the absorbance of any solution.

Here are the absorbance results of two solutions;

Results sheet of my experiment

Each one spent 6 to 7 hours completing this experiment. At some point in the lab, I was getting hungry, and feeling tired. When I was able to fully extract the results of the experiment, I felt a great sense of joy.

I love chemistry. Because chemistry means experimenting in the lab.

I hope you will benefit a lot from my article. This experiment will help you learn a lot.

I hope you will benefit a lot from my article. This experiment will help you learn a lot.

Thank you!

3
$ 0.90
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Sajibb
Avatar for Kingslayer
1 year ago

Comments