Procrastination and its consequences

0 16
Avatar for Kincaid
3 years ago

Procrastination is a bad habit that we are fond of and which needs to be gotten rid off. A lot of us put off urgent things we need to do because of silly reasons and later on, we regret it and that's called procrastination.

We often postpone things that need immediate attention because we feel tired to do it at that particular time and think we have enough time left to do it and at the end, we end up not doing it and regretting. I'm very guilty of this crime, I say "I'm going to start reading by 8am" but I pick up my phone and use it till 10am or watch television. While wasting my time doing these things, I think about how I wasted my time doing those irrelevant things and get sad at how unproductive my day was when I was the main cause of it.

You need to take solid decisions against procrastination or it will render you unproductive and useless because if you keep on procrastinating, you'll never get anything done. Some of the decisions involve setting good daily timetables and reminders that will help keep you on track. You can get a sticky note and write things you want to do for the day and paste it on places that you'll see and remember so you won't spend your time doing something irrelevant. Above every other decision, I'll advice you to table the matter before God asking Him to help you not to procrastinate and if you let Him help you, He will.

Another thing you need to learn is discipline. You need to discipline yourself to avoid distractions and focus on that urgent thing that needs to be taken care of. If you can say to yourself "I will go read my books, I'll go wash plates and I won't pick up my phone till I'm done" and be serious about it, trust me, procrastination will not have room in your life anymore.

I hope you pray to God, take solid decisions and discipline yourself not to postpone urgent things because these will help tackle procrastination. Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Kincaid
3 years ago

Comments