Competition: healthy or unhealthy

1 19
Avatar for Kincaid
3 years ago

As we all know, competition is the activity of striving to get something by defeating others who are also striving to get it too. Competition is very important in the sense that it helps in moulding a person to be better at things he/she was merely good at (healthy competition). Healthy competition is very important and without it, a lot of us would just prefer to remain in our comfort zones. Sometimes it takes looking at the good things others are doing which you wish to do but haven't done to motivate you to do yours.

So when I was in secondary school, I used to be among the top five students with the highest grades in my class and that felt good; I had so much confidence and got too comfortable. I changed my school and thought it'd be just as easy as the last one so I didn't pull all nighters during my first continuous assessment test because to me "I wasn't a night reader" and so when my mates where reading, I was busy sleeping. When the results of the test were released, I discovered I was among the people with the lowest grades, having the 26th position in a class of 33 students. I felt so ashamed and from that day, I tried my best to reach the top with God's help and that of a good friend. I must admit that seeing people I didn't expect to be at the top because they were playful taught me to never judge a book by it's cover and never be too comfortable with your current situation or position because it can get better.

Competition can get unhealthy especially when it comes to unnecessary possession of material things just because your neighbor possesses such. Some people are even competing with people who aren't aware of the competition; they look at what others are getting and try to out-do it by getting better which is very unhealthy. That's why it's important to face your front, mind your business and not compare yourself to the people around you; your mates, friends who may appear to be doing better than you at that point in time. The fact that you don't have it now doesn't mean you can't have it later, you can still get it later on if you exercise a little patience and pray. It's all a matter of time and lines will begin to fall in pleasant places for you besides everyone has entirely different destinies so just DO YOU.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Kincaid
3 years ago

Comments

You can also join this giveway : https://read.cash/@Sujitdas1/giveway-050-99f8398d

$ 0.00
3 years ago