My dream Christmas.

9 40
Avatar for Kike9781
2 years ago

Nothing like Christmas to allow us to dream.

And Christmas has that; a whole month of joy in its majority, because, also at this time melancholy and sadness rise, for different factors, maybe you are away from your family, or if someone has simply left the earthly plane, we remember it at every moment. 

I have always said that for me, the family is the most important thing; and at this time, I emphasize this more, for a long time, I did not share Christmas with my family, my work was very demanding when I was hired by one of the Big Four, a big achievement For someone who had just graduated as an Auditor, as expected I dedicated myself to just growing up in this world, to the point that my family took a back seat.

Over the years, I managed to correct this, but the most important thing I could not recover. And it was the time that I stopped sharing with them, my nephews received the best gifts from their uncle, my parents the best walks and trips were paid by his little boy (me) but, I was always the absent son.

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

This year I want it to be special; and especially after everything that has happened to us because of this pandemic, at least in my family, there will be empty places at the table because some left as a result of this disease, just for this time last year An aunt and my sister's father-in-law passed away, I loved him like a grandfather.

My parents had gone on a trip to visit some of my uncles. And as a result of the pandemic and the closing of borders, we had to spend last Christmas apart. So this year, I just want to be with them, the few of us who remain in the country. Because most of my nephews and nieces have also gone abroad due to the crisis in our country.

I do not know how it is in their families, but on mine, any date is an excuse to sit at the table to try any amount of food, and when I tell them any amount it is literally, because always for these dates every day a meal is made special.

In my country Venezuela, the queen of Christmas is the "Hallaca" which is a kind of tamale (Venezuelans forgive me, it's just for the rest to understand). That has a stew of beef, chicken, pork, and endless ingredients, each region of my country has its way of preparing them, so they are as diverse as he is.

Imagen de amrothman en Pixabay 

So, for every Venezuelan family, the tradition of preparing hallacas is a real party; everyone gathers around the table and distributes the tasks. Everyone contributes their bit in the whole process; in some families is a real art. LOL. I still remember the scoldings of my grandmother because I ate the raisins or put them in the wrong place.

In my family, we already buy all the ingredients for their preparation and to be able to eat them on Christmas night, so if I have time I will take some pictures of the process to share them, although I think there are already several Venezuelans who have done it here.

To conclude, I just want to say that for me, any time is beautiful and dreamy if I have my family by my side, I love being together with them, laughing, playing, remembering things from the past, and continuing to laugh, but always together.

Try Smile all the time!

See you next time! We'll keep reading!

Friday night, December 17, 2021.

All writing is 100% original.

Cover Image: Photo by  krakenimages on Unsplash

All images contain the credit; otherwise, they are my property.

I can write thanks to the impulse of my sponsor. They are great people who create great content.

7
$ 0.90
$ 0.50 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Kike9781
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kike9781
2 years ago

Comments

I am sorry about your losses and I hope that you can have a great Christmas with your family this time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cuando era niña, la preparación de las hallacas era casi una fiesta. En casa de mi abuelo paterno, mi mamá y mis tías hacían casi 400 hallacas, jeje Y yo odiaba que me pusieran a limpiar las hojas de hallaca. Ahora que quedamos pocos aquí, he ascendido en las tareas y las hojas ahora se compran limpias, lol. Y recuerdo que cuando era pequeña también me regañaban por comerme las pasas y las aceitunas, jeje.

🎁 You have been blessed by the Club1BCH festive spirit and a $0.50 tip was given to this article. Sharing is caring... please share half of it with someone else! Happy Holidays! 🎁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mientras mi abuela estuvo viva jajaja nunca tuve tarea alguna de cocina, despues yo mismo me la busque, ya estos últimos años he ascendido mucho jajaja ayudo a mi mama en la preparación del guiso. Awww ya busco compartir el regalo. Gracias.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are many families going through grief due to the physical disappearance of their relatives. There is nothing better than a family reunion. Merry Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Merry Christmas anyway. I hope this year is better, last time we had to be alone, hopefully, this year we can meet at least those of us who remain in the country, a hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is more special than spending time with your family during the festivities. These creates lasting memoriee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right, nothing like being with the family on these special dates.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww I rally loved reading about your experience with your grandma while making food. that is so beautiful, reminded me of my grand ma, asking to bring dried food from the roof and we going there and sneaking some bites, she found right out and scolded us hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grandmothers know everything. How do they do that? I don't know haha but they know it, many times I was also discovered too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago