Doggone It! Where Are My Wieners?!

0 18
Avatar for Kendall
2 years ago

Introduction

I was supposed to run this article yesterday but I was unable to do so because something else crop up. But now that that was over, I could finally write my very first article on this platform.

Anyways, while browsing the web the other day; I came across a very interesting article from cointelegraph.com. The aforementioned cointelegraph article discussed the auction of a very interesting item on eBay: Doge-themed hotdogs!

Yup, you read that right. Someone on eBay was auctioning some wieners!

Okay, the one auctioning the hotdogs was not just “someone” but an American meat manufacturer, Oscar Mayer. But since I don’t live in the US, I don’t know much about the aforementioned company. That being said, one could always look for information about the company online.

But I digress…

The content of the item being auctioned consisted of 10 sausages, a packaging with the image of the popular “Shiba Inu” and 10,000 Dogecoins worth about $2,000.

Currently, the highest bid for the collector’s edition Doge-themed wieners is $3,050 but as the bidding was only temporarily halted and would most likely be opened again, the bid could go even higher.

The World Has Gone Crazy!

The reason the article caught my eyes was because the title was eye-catching and the content was to my liking.

Why? That’s because I’m a big fan of the Dogecoin (DOGE) so when I read the article I couldn’t help but click on the link to read it. But if you think that the reason I decided to write an article about the auction was because it was interesting then you’re not entirely wrong.

The real reason I’ve wrote this article though was because of how absurd it was.

I mean, it’s just a pack of wieners with a printed image of a dog on a packaging. Sure there was also the included $2,000 dollar worth of Dogecoins but I don’t think it justified the current bid of $3,050.

Besides the DOGE and the packaging, the hotdogs are perishable of which at most, would last for a few months refrigerated. So unless Oscar Mayer uses some unknown technology for their packaging that could preserve the wieners for eternity, the Doge-themed hotdogs could not be considered a collector’s item. Also, it’s not like the image of the “Shiba Inu” on the packaging is an NFT or anything…

But then again it’s not my money so why do I care? It’s not like I’ll be the one losing $1,050 once the hotdog were eaten or had expired. This brings me to the next point: Why is the words or phrase “collector”, “exclusive, and “one of a kind” so “deadly” to some people?

Is there something on our brain that triggers a chemical reaction every time we succeeded in acquiring something very rare?

Well, apparently there is, or rather, “are” since there are four feel good chemicals on our brain: Dopamine, oxytocin, serotonin, and endorphins. If I remembered correctly I’ve learned about these things when I was still in elementary and high school but since I’m no expert on this field I won‘t be discussing the four feel good chemicals in this article.

Anyways, it seemed that it was these so called feel good chemicals that make people do some crazy things like bidding thousands of dollars for a pack of “one of a kind” Doge-themed hotdogs despite the fact that it was perishable and wasn’t really worth the price.

Still, Oscar Mayer is quite impressive to be able to convince someone to bid for a pack of hotdogs at such a high price. What is more impressive though is the fact that they could get a website like cointelegraph.com or people like me to write an article for them for free.

But then again, it’s not really that surprising if you think about it. The only reason company like Oscar Mayer could become as successful as they are now is because they’re good at this sort of thing. After all, marketing always involved studying their target demographics’ mindset and Oscar Mayer did just that.

Closing Thoughts

People selling all type of weird crap on the internet wasn’t exactly new, nor was bidding for a pack of wieners for thousands of dollars the strangest thing that had ever happened. Heck, I even remembered reading an article about some guy selling bottled breaths of Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt online a few years back.

Don’t ask me how they managed to bottle the breaths of those two world famous celebrities because I don’t know how, and neither do I know if the bottled breaths actually came from Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt. But if you want to know if someone fell for the scam and bought the bottled breaths then the answer is yes. Someone did bought the aforementioned item for several hundred dollars.

I know it sounded crazy but things like that tend to happened, and more often than you think. Just search for it online and you’ll be surprised what people are willing to sell and buy on the internet.

Cheer!

 _________________________________________________

Source:

https://cointelegraph.com/news/oscar-mayer-auctions-one-off-pack-of-hot-doge-wieners

Image Source:

https://twitter.com/oscarmayer/status/1422952908648292353?

Lead Image Source:

https://pixabay.com/photos/dog-breed-shiba-inu-dog-purebred-3714812/

 

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Kendall
2 years ago

Comments