Adventure

0 14
Avatar for Kalkulus001
1 year ago

Adventure has different meanings to different people. Adventure is a  remarkable occurrence or a striking event.

I would like to share my adventure as a teacher.

My first day as a teacher

Pixabay

We all know that a teaching job is not well paid, no matter the price tag, it is not equivalent to the knowledge passed to the student. The time you used on them and the energy, the revision before classes all the sacrifices are too much to be paid for. People do say the reward of a teacher is gained in heaven. 

When I finished secondary School and I was idle to the core, my sister got me a job at a primary school not too far from my house. I wrote an application letter for a post of a class teacher and luckily for me I was accepted to teach Nursery two pupils.

Which happened after a series of questioning and interviews. I was asked to resume a week before school resumed. I was to be paid six thousand, five hundred naira as my monthly salary. I resumed as scheduled and I attended the orientation program and followed instructions well. 

When school resumed, I looked odd as other teachers were receiving compliments from their pupils and I was left all alone. 

After the assembly the students matched to their classroom and I need to take morning attendance of pupils around. I called their names and they aren't responding, they will tell me to bring their former teacher for them. I have to beg and be playful to gain their attention, it took me a whole thirty minutes to be able to take the morning attendance, I spent my fare on candy to bride the students so that they can listen to me.

Some of them will request permission to urinate four times in thirty minutes, at one point they all start crying because I yelled at them.

I was fed up, at one point I felt like quitting the job that day and the moment I remember my desperate need for money, I say to myself that I need to adapt, I will be used to it in no time. My experience made me know how Nursery and primary school teachers suffer with little stipends. How I wish I could change the world for them.

Thanks for reading through 😘

The pen keeps dazzling 🖌️

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Kalkulus001
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kalkulus001
1 year ago

Comments