Thursday with Shaggy

2 16
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
6 months ago

Greetings, music lovers!πŸ™Œ

Screenshot from my phone and edited on Canva

___

No matter how busy I'm, I don't miss listening to my radio on Thursdays because of throwback songs. You know, radio stations have a way of playing songs randomly, and you wouldn't know when you'd bump into your favourite. I have loads of music on my phone, but each Thursday, I keep adding to the collections from the radio's playlists.

Today's Thursday wasn't left behind; I woke up, tidied myself up, and set off for work. I took my phone and connected it to a radio station while my AirPod was connected and fixed to my ear.

Then "Strength of a Woman" by Shaggy came to play.

*"Oh my God!"* I screamed out of joy.

I couldn't contain my nostalgia; I felt carried away. The violin and the beat at the first stage got me nodding my head and saying, "Ha ha yeah", "ha ha yeah".... in Shaggy's voice.

I didn't know much about the lyrics because I was tender when I heard the song, but the first line has always been in my head;

🎢🎢*"It's amazing how this world was made; I wonder if God is a woman."*🎢🎢

So, I sang along with this line but got lost after that.

But I never cease to echo the;

*That's a woman*

*That's the strength of a woman*

*What a woman*

So sweeet! Sweeter than food!πŸ•Ί

The song finished playing, and I turned on my data and went to download the mp3 because I don't have it on my phone. After downloading, I turned off the radio and began to play it *on endless repeat.*

I didn't get tired of it, I went on to see its visuals. I checked on YouTube, and I was happy to see the video.

I watched until I got tired.

____

It was released in 2003.

That's 20 years old!

I was born already in 2003, and I remember watching the video on a VCD. My dad knows good music, and he has a collection of foreign artists.

In the VCD I watched this song, it contained another hit from Shaggy titled "Wasn't Me" and one hit track from Kelly Rolland and Nelly... I've forgotten the title.

For those that don't know about this song (I doubt if there's anyone like that), it talks greatly about the capacity of a woman.

Just like the first line of the verse says,

🎢"It's amazing how this world was made; I wonder if God is a woman."🎢

The world was greatly designed, like the way women arrange and keep the home clean. We know how capacitated women are; they have the gift of building homes with a lot of calmness.

🎢"With her smile and her style, she'll protect you like a child."🎢

Women have the softest of looks and smiles on their faces, but they're warriors when it comes to protecting their offspring. A woman would be ready to sacrifice her life for her child's life. What a Strength they've got there.

The lyrics of the song are just so loaded that even if it's sung offbeat, the lyrics will make you love it.

No wonder it's still captivating to listen to even though it's been around for ages.

Shaggy did so well!

Β _____

Thanks for reading.

Lyrics From [here]

Originally published [here]

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
6 months ago

Comments

Kacy it seems thursday was really interesting in your side, mine I always enjoy on through back Wednesdays still on FM.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Yes bro.

I'm a big fan of FM. That's where I get most of my song collections from.

Thank you so much for stopping by

$ 0.00
6 months ago