Expecting much from people

1 30
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Greetings people!🙌

It's been a busy weekend here and catching up with activities here has been tough. I know you guys are doing good.

________________________

I remember I once talked about this topic here some months ago. Something came up and I got purged again with this thought,

"What if you die while waiting to be checked on?"

I know we are all passing through life challenges due to the harsh economy that has resulted in a high cost of living, and having a matching & sustainable income is not feasible unless you're a politician (as it is in my country).

But aside from this fact, a lot of people are just there, with the bad habit of wanting people to be checking on them always, just like we check LiveScore.

I'm very much surrounded by such people, and I get irritated a lot whenever I hear them say, "When was the last time you called to check on me?". And the worst of these people is that, they're the ones that don't check on people either.

Let me share some of my experiences...

My boss is number one on the list, he has a soft body that easily falls victim to slight sickness like malaria, and whenever this happens, he gets into a sicky mood, always telling everyone that he's sick just for you to tell him "sorry." It seems the apology is medicinal to him.

The days I was working with him in the same organization, I usually excuses them whenever he starts announcing his body pain to my coworkers. Those talks make me uncomfortable because petting someone with such words is not my thing at all.

I'm not saying checking on people is a bad habit or shouldn't be adopted as a lifestyle but when it's obvious, it weakness my system.

Whenever his children fall sick, the same thing happens too. He would want you to leave your work to stay with him to look after his family... for just a slight sickness.

"What if you die while wanting to be told sorry or to be pitied

This was the question I asked one of our church members who always wants people to check on her whenever she falls sick.

I noticed that she loves to fall sick so as to use the opportunity to take note of the people that usually check on her and to blacklist some names.

One day we went to visit her after her one month's absence from church. We got there, and she gave us the usual query, "I was sick for over a month, and nobody in the church came to visit me."

I smiled because I was used to those lines, knowing that she likes to fall sick always.

Image source

"Sister, don't nurture sickness because you want people to be checking on you, if you die in the mist of sickness, you're gone forever."

"And also, don't you like to be the one checking on people instead of being the one checked on?"

That's what I said to her, and I was sure the words settled in her mind

Everyone of us are passing through one challenges or the other and we shouldn't query people if they don't check on us because we don't know what's up with these people we are expecting a check up from them... even if familiar members.

Yes, you're entitled to be checked on by your family members, but don't feel bad if they don't do that as they ought to, because they have their challenges too.

As for me, I've learned the principle of being independent, and I live my life not expecting anything from anybody.

But this doesn't mean that I don't extend my hands in reaching out to people, both family and friends; in fact, if you tell me that you're sick today, I'll make sure to see to it that you're okay with a little help within my capacity, and I do this not expecting anything in return, in fact, I don't wish to be in the point of seeking help.

________________________

If you're among the people I categorized here, please repent.

Thanks for reading✌️

7
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Thank goodness I'm not this way, I mean what's specially wrong with people who fall sick just to see how many people cares for them? People have a lot on their plate so if they even make up time to check on you, they should be well appreciated, and who says it's a bad idea for you(the person) to be the one that checks up on them?

$ 0.00
1 year ago