My Coinbase Visa Debit Card Is In The Mail, But...

2 29
Avatar for JustinV
2 years ago

I was pretty excited to get an email the other day letting me know that I could now request my card from Coinbase. I was so thrilled. It made me feel more easily connected to my crypto that I've been hard at work collecting.

I went through all the steps, sent over some btc to convert to usdc, and thought I was all set, and I was but I wasn't expecting what happened next.

I needed to buy some stuff offline. I figured that since my physical card was in the mail, I'd just invoice myself through Paypal and use my physical Paypal card. The card was active, pin set and I had $28.88 in usdc ready for the $25 Paypal invoice to be paid with. Everything should be ready to go, right?

Yes, and No. I tried 4 times, and each time PayPal told me the transaction was declined by the card issuer. I'm like what the heck is going on here. I know I have the balance in there. 

I decided to call their phone support and after about 7 minutes on hold, I spoke to a rep who informed me that PayPal is NOT on their approved vendor list!!

My card is fine and can be used basically anywhere, EXCEPT to make payments to PayPal.

I must have missed that one in the fine print lol

Still happy about having my card. I feel like I'm fully into the crypto world now, but not being able to make purchases to Paypal merchants kinda sucks, I'm not going to lie!

Just a heads up, if you want to use your Coinbase card for Paypal purchases, you CAN'T.

Until next time!

~Justin

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for JustinV
2 years ago

Comments

It's a pretty cool card. I get my 4% XLM on purchases and instantly transfer out to my favorite crypto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome, lol I picked XLM too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago