My Journey as a Substitute Teacher in a Public High School || Part 1💚

0 6
Avatar for June9
Written by
2 years ago

Hello hello everyone! How you doin’? I hope we’re all safe as always and I hope everyone got their vaccines already so that we’re ready to face the new normal community. I can’t find so much topic to write about here because really I’m struggling so much lately. But now I’m back and still fighting every day to survive life💚🤗So today, I will talk about my journey as a substitute teacher in a Public High School. Join with me and Keep reading ;)

Last October 13, 2021 at 2:30 in the afternoon an unknown number called me. I didn’t answer in the 1st call because I  have this rule that if someone called me with an unknown number and didn’t text me after the call I won’t answer that call anyway, maybe it’s just a stranger who did it just for fun. But it call me again up to 3 times so I need to answer because this time I thought it’s too important. When I answer the call, the caller said that she was from the Deped Southern Leyte Division. I was in shock and didn’t expect that to happen for I know there is no available item coming from the Junior High School category. But when she said “Maam, you need to prepare your papers because you will be assigned as a substitute teacher at San Ricardo National High School” I was so happy but not fully because it’s not still a permanent item. ( I’m still striving for a stable job after all) But still I have felt gratefulness and a positive mindset for that. So, the next day I rush into the clinic for my medical test and then prepare the papers needed as required. On October 19, i already submitted the requirements and was told to start my First day of Service on October 25. The first day went well but instead of meeting the Principal, I meet already the works that needed to be accomplished soon. It’s fine because I did not know that they are having their work from home so I think things will be better too in the 2nd day. Of course I need to apply big adjustments because it’s not the same with the last work I had. On the 2nd day, I met the Principal. He was asking many questions and honestly I felt they’re not expecting a substitute teacher in the MAPEH subject so I felt sad a little bit and he needs to call the HR first to have a proof that the division send me to their school. That was his last message to me and said he will just call me after the HR confirms. When he called me in the afternoon he talk about that I may be pulled out because my substitution is not valid for I don’t last for 1 month because the first day of service I attended was on 25th and the teacher who took the leave good for 2 months, will be back on November 22 since her leave started on the 23rd of September. This is also the time i knew that the case of the teacher was miscarriage and it means she only have 2 months for her leave. What I know is that being a substitute teacher will do its job good for 3 months. I have no idea with the difference of the normal delivery and miscarriage case until that day. I cried hahaha this is so problem if you’re a soft-hearted person, I felt pain because I was betrayed again by the Division for the 2nd time and not just that I also gave up my Job at SLSU for this (what a repay!!!) Because of my anger, I chatted one of the employee of the HR (btw she’s the one who call us during the giving of assignment) I told her all the words inside in my head. I didn’t control my anger that time but after those words I said, I realize she’s not the one to blame. I said sorry to her for being frustrated at that moment and thanking her for the understanding she gave. I was ashamed too and felt embarrassed of what I did, but what can I do I just want to fight for my right. I message also the Superintendent of the Division so that he is aware of what had happen to me, i thought also that it is a way out. I am thankful the Superintendent responded as soon as he can. To make the story short, they made an adjustment to make my substitution valid. After that day, I was tired thinking about things I cannot control but If I only knew in the first place I won’t take the opportunity to work with them and won’t gave up the work I started. The first whole week of my duty feels like hell, there’s no motivation but Thanks to some of the Teachers out there who helped me ease the burden, cheer me up to accept it slowly and live in the moment. Yes! I am still in but I cannot go back and correct what had happen, the only way out is to accept that some things isn’t under my control. They do happen because I know it’s God’s plan and not mine. 

Thank you for reading guys😍 Part 2 will be posted soon. God bless you! 😇🤍

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for June9
Written by
2 years ago

Comments