Human hierarchy of needs.

11 43
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Lead image from unsplash

disclamer: Every word on this article is mine and didn’t copy from any source and even if I had to add a source that would be my study note.


Good morning everyone. How was your night ? I hope we all slept well. The weekend is here already how do you intend to spend it ? Made any plans? Well I hope you did at least one of us would enjoy this weekend because as for me I am stuck my with books.

Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty

Do check out my elite sponsors

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

The inspiration for this article came from a course I was studying the other night in preparation for my exams. Titled “The evolution of management”. The lecturer who thought us talked about different managerial approaches from the systematic, scientific, administrative, human, bureaucratic to the modern contemporary approaches. He talked about different people that influenced this evolution by writing books, articles and even carrying out simple social experiments. The likes of federic taylor , elton mayo,fayon Henry and lots of people. One thing that caught my attention is Abraham Maslow’s hierarchy of needs diagram.

Image source: simply psychology

Maslow explained that human needs are in a hierarchy kind of format and that we start from the lowest level and move upward till we get to the peak of satisfying our needs.

The first stage is the physiological need which one could consider as the most important need. Humans need this kind of needs to survive like food, water, shelter , warmth, rest , housing and the likes. I call them the basic survival needs. Without these one could actually loose their life so they are considered the primary need of humans.

The he went further to discuss safety needs. In most African countries safety is considered almost as important as the first need stage. In fact most of my friends here in Nigeria would Argue that safety is more important than food. There is even a saying that goes with it in my language which reads.

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

“it is only a person that is alive that would be able to eat”

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

Also under this second stage of need is security in this context security would mean ;- assurance on survival whether on life or job. We as humans strive to make investments that assures us our future which is a very great principle to live by.

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

The third stage talked about belongingness or the feeling to belong .This is true for people who have easily attained the first two stage; they mostly feel the need to be “among” or to belong to high class or best kind of people. Another aspect is, some other people want to belong somewhere so that they can feel love and support from other people this has to do with the feeling of needing validation from a mentor or a crush while some just want to be in a group. It could be a friend group, an elite group of men or women, a cult or anything.

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

The fourth stage isn’t far from the third stage ; this is known as the stage of esteem need : this stage represent a stage of feeling prestige or feeling accomplished. So many people want to feel this feeling because it gives them a sense of self worth or self importance or even self validation. Others want to like they are “larger than life” so that people would respect them or even fear them. This stage is occupied by wealthy people in the society : the CEO’s ,the presidents, The Elon musks of the world. There is usually a sense of entitlement that comes with attaining this stage of the hierarchy of needs triangle.

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

The final stage known as the Self actualization stage. Most People that have attained this stage care more or little about money, they see the word differently they are mostly concerned about changing the world or making a huge difference. This is because there is believe that they have reached the peak of survival which is true and so monetary issues do not really matter to them. People that occupy this stage are the geniuses, great minds of the world, some spiritual leaders and in some cases the Hitlers of the world .

I would end the article with a popular saying I took away from studying this topic Which is;

“After we satisfy a particular need it seizes to become a motivator to us”

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

This is true not just for managerial or organizational situations but also in all aspect of life .

Thank you as always for your time

till I write again

Peace and love ❤️

date of Publish: September/10/ 2021 publisher : jumper01

reference: Dr. Saul McLeod ‘ simple psychology

10
$ 0.40
$ 0.14 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 5
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Comments

I can remember one of my lecturers taking me this. He made it look complicated but as usual google was there to help myself and my coursemates. That was in year 2 when we borrowed a course from Psychology department.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow that’s nice well i hope I did justice to it from your point of view

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this write up, it was nice reading through

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also taught Abraham Maslow's hierarchy of human needs too and I don't think there's anyone who wouldn't know it or been taught in school. Every human beings has needs and they are very important and it is listed according to their priority which the first is the physiological needs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Please edit this and cite the source(s) of your information and/or reference(s) before this article gets tagged as plagiarized.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wrote everything myself after studying it I did not copy anyone or any source

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know but you need to cite the reference, the website, or the book that you studied. You can't study something without a reference. All you need to do is add a credit section at the bottom of this post and cite your references. This is common knowledge because this is taught in school.

Even the image is from the Internet. (I have used that before in my lecture.) And you have to acknowledge the source of the image.

I am saying this because I see you as a good writer, it will be a waste if your post will be tagged as plagiarized.

There are lots of posts here that teach about plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Edit: I have just read your first post. So this is not your second account. I think I have just pointed out why your previous account was tagged as "spam". But I think it is not spam. Just learn to avoid getting your posts tagged as "plagiarism".

You are a good writer, what is lacking is citing your references.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi thank you for your advice I have done my best to reference it as much as I can I hope this serves well if you could kindly go over it and see if it is okay . Honestly the note was dictated to me and the little I wrote about it is from what I wrote on my note studied and then wrote an article on. But of course your suggestions and advice matter to me so if there is any please feel free to enlighten me thanks again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, the reference was a book. That's fine. But this subject has a lot of references online. I teach this topic as part of the Marketing curriculum that's im familiar with it.

Anyways, there are posts on how to avoid plagiarism here. Try to check them out. I might make one also soon.

Kee it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every 100 level student in our university days will never forget Abraham Maslow's theory of needs. Priority is considered here in our choices. Good one here

$ 0.00
2 years ago