Counting 1 to 10

1 19
Avatar for JulyAnn
2 years ago
February 23,2022, Wednesday


Ten...

It's been ten days since my parents died. At a young age, I become an orphan. My aunts and uncles left me after they got what my parents left me; money and property. At a young age, my eyes are opened to people's selfishness and greediness, and the cruelty of the world. I don't know where to start. It's even harder when I was lost looking for my mother when we are going outside for a stroll.


Nine...

I beg nine times, begging my relatives. No one wants to adopt me. They said I am useless and a burden. They shove me away, like a stray dog walking in the street. I don't know where to go. I just let my feet walked. Somewhere. Anywhere.


Eight...

Eight nights I slept in the dark and cold pavements of the road. Relying on pity and small cents from people that are passing by. Suffering from hunger and trembling in cold. Hoping that there is someone who can help me.


Seven...

Seven nights passed by. I am sitting on the sidewalks spacing out when a black car stops in front of me. A woman walked out of the car. Looking at her I think she is at mid-30. You can see the concern and worry on her face. She slowly walks towards me and asked, "Why are you here? Where do you live?" I can smell her perfume, its fragrance makes me dizzy. I told her why I am here and told her my story.

Six...

I cried six times, not because of sadness but because of happiness. An angel sent from above wants to adopt me. She invited me to her house. Feed me. Bath me. Dress me. She has a husband but they don't have a child. They've been praying to God to have a child but it didn't happen. Now, they want to adopt me. They want to own me and be their child. It makes me smile.


Five...

Five days have passed. I am happy with my new family. They allowed me to call them "Mom and Dad". I go back to school. They filled me with love and care. They gave me all my needs. I forgot my cruel past. I felt happiness, love, and care. In that five days, I became happy again.


Four...

Four months. In four months, I shrugged off my shoulder four times and neglect the thoughts that distract me. Those yearning eyes and warm hands brush in every part of my body. I know this is wrong. But I don't have the strength to complain. I am scared of him and to what he will do if I said anything.


Three...

Three slaps are what I've got from mother. Countless bad and hurtful words came out of her mouth. She is furious. She said that I don't have obliged. That I am making a story to defame father. I know that this will happen. But I can no longer tolerate what my father is doing. I need to stop it. She said I am crazy. That father won't do such a thing that I am saying. She prisoned me in a far and darkroom.


Two...

There are two things that I am thinking about. If I will just give up or fight to live. But how? How can I continue if this is what's happening to my life? I am losing hope. I am alone again. Things that happened in the past are flashing back. I don't know where to get the strength and will to fight. All I am thinking is to end my suffering.


One...

One blinding light awakes me from my deep slumber. Although it's blinding me, I felt happiness, excitement, and at the same time nervousness. Mixed emotions are what I am feeling right at that moment.


One...

Someone extended his hand and help me to get to stand. I see a familiar face. A serene and bright face. His face lightens up. I blink my eyes. He's smiling at me. I smiled back. I hold his hands tightly. I get up again. No suffering. No more sadness.


One...

One. One step. One more step. We're walking side by side, holding each other's hands. We're walking towards unending happiness.


One...

One more chance to make me happy. Life is beautiful. It's beautiful to live. I will make sure to live happily.


Here. In a place, we called PARADISE.



--

I am bored to death and decided to read a book and saw this story written by Elijah Mae Mariscotes. This is such a nice story. It was originally written in Filipino, and I tried to translate it into English to share.


✳️✳️Life is beautiful, yet hard and painful. We struggle to live, but their are some circumstance that drives us to give up and end life.✳️✳️


This story is full of lesson. Hope you like it.


2
$ 7.42
$ 7.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of JulyAnn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JulyAnn
2 years ago

Comments

May mga tao talagang daratinf sa buhay natin para magbigay satin gng bagong liwanag pero paglaon ay false hope lang pala un. Dahil another bangungot pala ang naghihintay sa kanya. May ganitong kwento talaga in real life ee. But well, I still like the ending. No more suffering from then on. Just pure happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago