Distance Learning, as the new normal....

0 16
Avatar for JulianaF
2 years ago
Topics: Student, Life story

Hi everyone, School Year 2020-21 has just ended so I am now able to write all the things I have encountered as well as my experiences and the challenges me and my siblings have faced brought about by this new learning modality.

Due to the unexpected spread of the virus, COVID-19, face to face classes cannot be held in most countries up until now. However, we shifted to our new "normal" called distance learning or learning through correspondence or over the internet. You do not have to go to school, instead, all you have to do is use your gadget, attend a meeting online, listen and learn. That's one of the many challenges we have encountered other than the distractions of our surroundings during our online class. Best examples are dogs barking and the neighbors loud voices doing some sing a long on their videoke machines. And the very thing that hinders our learning with this kind of modality is that our poor internet services having a very slow connectivity.

My little sister attending her Singaporean Math Class....

Online learning definitely feels different than having to attend classes face to face. It is hard to adjust, especially if you have difficulty in learning without being taught personally, if you get distracted easily, and if it is hard for you to communicate.

We shared different struggles due to the sudden change of our mode of learning, nevertheless, most of us tried to adapt into it little by little. Not just students, but our parents and teachers too. On my part I am a Grade 11 student with a Culinary Art strand. Everytime we have our laboratory or performance task to do, I felt so pressured because I am cooking a certain dish in front of a camera so my teacher would know if I am the one doing it. When we are having our oral recitations, our teacher will asked questions while we are blindfolded and the camera is on. I find it a bit odd and funny but it is for our own good too to assure that we are really studying our lessons and for our teacher to know if we are really learning or not.

Me doing my live performance task...

Let's admit, what makes most of our time in school is our personal bonding with friends, classmates, and teachers. Unfortunately, we cannot do that anymore in online classes, it is all about learning, doing activities and adjusting. Of course, you can still communicate with your friends and teachers, fun times aren't limited. But there are lots of things you need to consider. Surviving online learning was difficult for me, it tested my time management, responsibility, cramming,procrastination, and how I handle things. It was hard at first, but I got used to it by time. That's what I've noticed with my siblings too. If you do not want your activities piled,try doing it immediately. If you do not want to get sleepy while having classes, try to sleep early. But of course, it does not apply to everyone, we have different ways in coping. Well, me and my siblings believed in the saying that goes, " If there's a will there's a way". And we are very grateful by the grace of God and with our very supportive parents plus our hardwork and perseverance, me and my two siblings ended the school year with High Honors.

My sister's virtual graduation ceremony

We may experienced difficulties during this time of pandemic. But let's continue to pray, hope and believed in God's promise. God will not abandon us. This pandemic will soon come to an end, hopefully.

*Lead image is from Unsplash

2
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JulianaF
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JulianaF
2 years ago
Topics: Student, Life story

Comments