To Be or Not To Be

8 32
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

June 15, 2021

To be or not to be … vaccinated?

That is the big question that has been nagging me for quite some time now and is stressing me out.

It started when the government was able to provide free vaccines to not just the frontliners.

It is noted that when the vaccines were available, categories were set according to who will be prioritized in getting the vaccines.

The categories are:

A1 – the frontliners

A2 – the senior citizens

A3 - those with comorbidities

A4 – government and private employees

I belong to the A3 group as I have maintenance for hypertension.

Even while the government is still in the process of vaccinating the frontliners, our company nurses have been getting us, the employees, to register for the vaccination.

With a lot of news, either fake or not, about fatalities in receiving the vaccines, I have been in doubt about getting one myself. It seems that I am not the only one in our company who is doubting too as only a few have registered for a schedule in vaccination.

Because of this, our company nurses set a webinar and invited us to join. This webinar is supposed to encourage us to register. But even after the webinar, I was still in doubt.

I keep on praying and asking God to give me some signs that will make me get vaccinated.

THE SIGNS.

Cousin priest.

The first sign I received was when my cousin priest whom I have no contact for quite some time, sends me a link to the Holy Mass that he presided in a private message. In this mass, he mentioned about him getting the first dose of vaccine and when he will have the next dose. He also expressed the importance of having vaccinated.

Friend.

The second sign was from my classmate in high school. We have a group chat with my batch mates. She sent a picture of her mom, a senior citizen, who has just received her first dose of the vaccine.

She said that covid19 is more dangerous than the vaccine. This got me thinking at night before going to sleep.

Parish priest.

The third sign was from our parish priest. In his homily, he mentioned about getting vaccinated, even though that he didn’t receive yet his first dose as he does not belong to the first 3 priorities, but he already submitted his registration.

After getting these signs I told myself that I should do this. Let’s get vaccinated. So I contacted one of our company nurse to ask for the requirements needed for A3 category. I have to get a certification from my doctor that I am fit for vaccination and I have to bring with me current prescription of my medicines.

And because there is still a little doubt left, I keep on postponing getting the requirements.

I also told my husband that I will wait for him when he gets home once his contract ends so that we can go together for the vaccination. His contract will end by July.

EYE OPENER.

Our parish priest mentioned again the importance for having vaccinated during his homily last Sunday, June 13, 2021.

He told a story about a man who doesn’t want to leave his home when the flood came as God will save him. The story goes like this…

There was a man whose house was already filled with water that reached almost up to his knee when a neighbour came by and told him to ride his bike and they will flee to a higher ground. But the man will not leave his house. He told his neighbour that it is okay as God will save him.

Soon the flood water kept on rising until the first floor area was filled. The man was in the second floor of his house when another neighbour arrived in a small banca. His neighbour told him that there is still room for him in his banca but still he declined saying that it is okay as God will save him.

The flood has not let up but instead keeps on rising until he has no choice but to climb to his rooftop. Once there, a helicopter from the rescue team called out to him to hold on to the ladder that is being drop from the helicopter so that he will be brought to safety. And again he declined saying that it is okay as God will save him. So the rescue team left him.

The flood still keeps on rising and he has nowhere to go. The man drowned and died.

When he faced God, he accused God of not helping him. But God said to him, I sent you your neighbour in a motorbike but you did not join him. I sent another one of your neighbour in a banca but you declined. And lastly, I sent you rescuers but still you let them go.

End of story.

I don’t want to be like that man. So I now heed the call for vaccination by registering up yesterday and calling my doctor for the recommendation and prescriptions.

I am now waiting for a message as to the date of my vaccination.

What about you? Are you doubting too or are you brave enough to have been vaccinated already?

Thanks for dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by Unsplash.

5
$ 20.04
$ 19.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

As mentioned in another comment I have chosen to delay indefinitely. I have no fear of the vaccine as such, but I also don't think that is necessary for me. Instead I concentrate on supporting my immune system, so it is strong enough to fight with various viruses and illnesses. This turned out to be enough for me, as I had covid last year and my body was able to fight it off without the use of any medication. For the next one (if it happens) I already have antibodies. Had I chosen to be vaccinated I would still be able to contract the virus and pass it on to others.

In my opinion we should all be give a freedom of choice. My mum had both doses of vaccine and my dad said he won't ever take it. Both are fine with me. The same with my friends, some are vaccinated already, while others never will. Whatever yours or anyone else's reasons are to vaccinate or not, I respect everyone's choices 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Glad that you were able to survived covid. 🤗 And yeah, I agree with you, it's our freedom of choice. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am here in HK and I don't doubt it pro tapus na ko jan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No side effects pagkatapos ng vaccine?

Good for you. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala te

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice to hear. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you registered. Most of my relatives are frontliner, in medical line to be specific. I thank God that they have still enough strength to help people in times like this. They keep reminding us that we should vaccinated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to your relatives. They are our living heroes during this pandemic. Glad that they have their vaccines already. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago