Novels

8 35
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

April 12, 2021

Are you fond of reading books? Particularly, Novels?

I am.

Ever since I was a grader, I am fond of reading novels. If I remember correctly, I started reading novels in Grade 5. A classmate introduced me to the world of make believe.

Sweet Dreams novels were the first books that I read. The first Sweet Dreams story must have been nice or good that it hooked and make me look for more.

As I cannot afford yet to buy my own Sweet Dreams books, I ended up renting from another classmate. She has plenty of Sweet Dreams collection. She rented it out for Php 0.25 per day.

Then a friend introduced me to the world of detectives thru Agatha Christie. It made me decide for a while that I want to be a detective myself when I grow up. There is also the Hardy Boys. Brothers Frank and Joe Hardy who are amateur detectives. I think I was able to read a book or two of the Hardy Boys series.

But then, I was re – introduced to the world of romance thru Mills and Boon in my high school days. Now, I am really up for romance novels. I was caught hook and sinker.

My favourite authors where, Charlotte Lamb, Penny Jordan, Flora Kidd, Janet Dailey, Carole Mortimer, Anne Mather, Violet Winspear, Lilian Peake, to name a few. Oh! How I love those rich guy, poor girl love story. The boss and the secretary or how about, the prince and the assistant. 😁

This time I get to save a portion of my school allowance to buy books. When my godmother heard that I love to read novels, she gave me her collection of Mills and Boons and Harlequins. How my heart overflows with joy… my eyes have seen stars that day. Can you feel my excitement and happiness here? 🤩🤩🤩

I have taken good care of them that until now they are still part of my collection even though they have seen better days.

Then in college I got hold of a Nora Roberts novel. I think it was Montana Sky. There was mystery combined with romance. I do prefer to read the Mills and Boon and Harlequin as they are short stories. They only have around a hundred pages and I want to finish the book fast. Montana Sky is quite a thick one but it got me hooked. This is the first thick book I read that had more than a hundred pages, I think Montana Sky has more than 300 pages.

From then on I looked for Nora Roberts books in Book Sale store. Book Sale is a chain of stores selling used or pre loved books. If you are lucky, you can find some new ones too. This is my go to store for my novels. I browsed in the store and can even stay there for an hour or so. And I always end up with a book or two or three or four 😁 when I leave the store.

Since reading Montana Sky, my Nora Roberts books collection has been increasing and increasing, piling up.

I have a staff who is also a novel reader and she has given me a list of other authors that she thought I might love to read.

Authors like Judith McNaught, Sandra Brown, Julie Garwood, Johanna Lindsey.

Soon, in a separate article, I will try to give a review on the above authors and their books. 🤩

Mind you, I also have for adult books. I have plenty of Harlequin Blaze books. It is still a romance novel with lots of steamy scenes.

There are also Harlequin series that is a collaboration of various authors. Once you read one book, you just have to look for the others. It looks like there is a second story on top of the main story. The main story is finished in one reading but the second story is continued in another author’s main story.

Soon I tried other authors, like Debbie Macomber, Susan Wiggs, Kay Hooper, Judith Krantz and Sherryl Woods among others.

Then there was the Harry Potter series. This is just a book that is so difficult to let go even if I am very sleepy. Sometimes I fell asleep while still holding the book then I dreamed of the book so I wake up again and continued reading. I finished reading all the Harry Potter series. The first few books were made into movies but watching them, I can still say that I would prefer to read the book.

I am thankful to the Lord Almighty for giving me a husband who supports my likes. He built me some bookshelves.

In 2007, Kindle was born. It is a device that enables one to browse, buy or download and read e-books. During that time I was so sold out to the idea of e-books that I want to buy one. But then it is quite expensive.

Then a lot of e-books app that are free to download were available in the app store. I did download one and started reading from there. And I noticed that it is just different. It is not the same as reading the hardcopy. You cannot smell the pages when you read from the app. I love the turning of the pages. I love inserting a bookmark between the pages.

What about you? Are you a book lover too?

What are your favorite genre?

Do you prefer the hardcopy or you’d rather read the e-books?

Who are your favorite authors?

Do comment down below, would love to hear them.

Thanks for dropping by.

 

 

8
$ 6.90
$ 6.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
+ 1
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Shared interest, cool! I love Nora Roberts, too and have read most of her books or collected them. But haven't found newer ones lately.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You got all books already? I think I do too. 😁 Yeah, there's no new ones, but well, I only scout books in booksale stores.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At some point when new books became expensive, I'd scout for older ones in Booksale or whatever bargain book store. But they're hard to come by. Whenever I see one that I haven't read, I snap them up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same same... have you tried Sandra Brown too? If not, you should, highly recommended.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. Never tried reading any of her books. Sige, next time I come across one, I will read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa lahat ng nabanggit mo mommy yung harry potter kang ang familiar haha actually nagbabasa ako ng mga packet books at wattpad but i dint realy mind the authors haha kaya parang ang sama ko tuloy sa pagay na to hehe dame mong nabanggit na author 😂dapat pala tinandaan ko din lahat ng author ng book na nabasa ko😂pero ngayon ang binasbasa ko na lang mga book about sa lessons ko haha mahirap na baka maadik ulit ako sa nga pocket book at wattpad😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako naman po, I'm not a fond of reading novels but I reading novels on Wattpad few months ago. Kindle po pala ang uso before....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

mas masakit sa mata ang magbasa sa cp or tablets, para sa akin lang. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago