Knockers

5 33
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Again, it’s been a while that I have written and post something here are read.cash. I have been procrastinating even though I have already a topic in mind. There was just no motivation at all.

But today has been a very boring day, more so, my office work for today is so repetitive and is just making me sleepy. So I scrolled on Youtube, Noise.cash and Facebook.

I saw @bmjc98 ‘s post in Facebook at Bitcoin Cash: Earn and Learn Group about a mini writing contest. The prize is not that big but it makes me remember to write my long procrastinated topic. Here's the link for more information.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/237769798056371

So here goes my article and the topic is about Knockers.

You might wonder what are knockers all about. Are they the children who teased you by keeping on knocking at your door and ran away when they sense that somebody is about to open the door?

Or it can be that steel door accessory or a device that is used for knocking.

Well then guys, I am referring to a different knocker. What I will be talking about here involves a body part of the female members of our society. The breast.

Knockers are handmade breast prosthesis. The traditional ones are expensive, heavy and uncomfortable. It needs a special bra with pockets while a crocheted knocker is soft and comfortable and when placed inside a regular bra it takes shape just like a regular breast.

If you have been my subscriber and have read my articles, you would know that I do crafts, more particularly, crochet. I have been a member of crochet enthusiasts here in our place and have participated in a lot of activities. Our group is called Cebu Crochet Group or CCG.

I have been joining bazaars also and has been invited to different bazaars. One of those who never failed to invite me yearly is the group behind Pink October. This group is comprised of breast cancer survivors and every October they have various activities to raise awareness about breast cancer and to raise funds to help those who cannot afford expensive laboratories like mammogram.

Last 2019 I was able to combine both, the crochet group and bazaar.

One of the founders of CCG is a doctor whose mom has undergone mastectomy. Her mom has been using a silicon knocker after the surgery. As silicon knockers gets hot after a long wear, it makes her mom uncomfortable so she looks for other alternatives and found out that she can crochet a knocker. Since then her mom has been using a crocheted knocker.

In one of our group gathering, she mentioned about donating knockers to breast cancer patients. So I told them that I have a contact to these group and since I am joining a scheduled bazaar why not we include the donation during the activity.

I then discussed this to the Pink October group organizer and they were so delighted to include this activity in their schedule.

To raise funds for CCG, instead of donating right away our handmade knockers, I told them that we will give others the opportunity to donate too. So I displayed the knockers in my booth and sell them. I have printed a short dedication for those who wants to donate to write something, an encouragement or two to whoever cancer survivor received the donated knocker.

The proceeds from the sales of those knockers was turned over to CCG admin for purchase of additional yarns to make more knockers.

A turnover ceremony was done in the afternoon of the bazaar.

I just blurred the faces except mine, to respect their privacy.

We were able to donate more than a hundred knockers.

At the end of the day, we were glad that we made other people happy.

Here is the pattern I made for the knockers.

 KNOCKERS

 Note :

2sc - make 2 single crochet in the same stitch

 sc2 - make 1 single crochet in the next 2 stitches

 Pattern :

 Magic Ring.

 R1

6sc in magic ring

6sc

 R2

2sc in each stitch

12sc

 R3

2sc    2sc    sc2

 2sc    2sc    sc2

 2sc    2sc    sc2

18sc

 R4

sc4    2sc    2sc

 sc4    2sc    2sc

 sc4    2sc    2sc

24sc

 R5

sc7    2sc   

 sc7    2sc   

 sc7    2sc   

27sc

 R6

sc7    2sc    2sc

 sc7    2sc    2sc

 sc7    2sc    2sc

33sc

 R7

sc10    2sc   

 sc10    2sc   

 sc10    2sc   

36sc

 R8

sc10    2sc    2sc

 sc10    2sc    2sc

 sc10    2sc    2sc

42sc

 R9

sc13    2sc   

sc13    2sc   

sc13    2sc   

45sc

R10

sc13    2sc    2sc

sc13    2sc    2sc

sc13    2sc    2sc

51sc

R11

sc16    2sc   

sc16    2sc   

sc16    2sc   

54sc

R12

sc around

54sc

R13

sc around in back loops only

54sc

R14

sc2tog   sc14    sc2tog

R15

sc2tog   sc12    sc2tog

R16

sc2tog   sc10    sc2tog

R17

sc2tog   sc8    sc2tog

R18

sc2tog   sc6    sc2tog

R19

sc2tog   sc4    sc2tog

Insert stuffing

F.O. leave a long tail for sewing

 Thanks for dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

 

6
$ 5.27
$ 5.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Comments

Wow napakabait mo talaga madam at sobrang talented sana ipagpatuloy mo lang po iyan at dumami oa kayo, how i wish matutunan ko dn talaga yang ginagawa mo hehe galing lang eh wala

I failed to join to the CONTEST also huhu due to weak signal sayang naman dalawa lng oo ata kayo nag join sana may next pa hehe,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sis, one month old account or less lang.. Hehehe.. But thank you pa din for writing.. Nagbebenta ka ba sa shopee? Yung mga products mo pang shopee kasi.. Puro magaganda.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's ok. It got me into writing, bored na bored kasi ako kanina. 😁 Hindi pa ako nagbenta sa shopee, baka di ko makaya ang orders. pang off time lang kasi ang pag crochet ko. 🧡 Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sa bagay.. baka biglang ang dami mo ng orders pag ganun..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

just working on inventory for future bazaars. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago