Harry Potter and the Reasons Why I Hate It

7 28
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

June 3, 2021

I know that I have published a similar article before but I just forgot where I have this published.

This is the very first reason why I made summaries of what I have written so far in read.cash. I don't want to have a repeat topic. But since it was not in my summary here in read.cash, then I presume it was published in the now defunct Kiki app.

After that long introduction, let's proceed with the topic on hand.

Are you a fan of Harry Potter?

First and foremost, who is Harry Potter?

Harry Potter is a product of the imagination of a teacher, writer, J. K. Rowling while sitting in a train going to London.

So why do I hate him? He doesn't even know I exist.

I first came to know Harry Potter thru my sister. I went to visit her in Manila one time. I finished reading the book I brought with me at the plane. At that time, reading was my way to while away the time. So I asked her if she had any books I can borrow and she gave me Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. So I started reading it and started to hate it.

Reason #1 : I cannot do anything else during the day.

At first I was hesitant to read it. I even asked her if she had other books and to let me choose what I want to read. But she was adamant. She said that Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is really good. I have no choice but to start reading. And what happened is I don't want to put the book down once I started reading it. I cannot do anything else as I am so engrossed in the story. I brought the book with me when we went out and read it in the car. I missed seeing what Manila has to offer along the ride as my eyes were focused on the book.

Reason #2: I cannot sleep.

I go to bed still reading the book. I don't want to sleep even though my eyes are already very heavy. If I unintentionally fell asleep, I dream of it and woke up to continue reading. I lack sleep and it gave me headache on the morning after.

Reason #3: Long wait.

After finishing the book overnight, I am now addicted to it and is now looking for the second installment which didn’t happen overnight. This holds true to the rest of the next book series. It took several years to finish reading all the books. Actually, it took 10 years to read everything based on the date of publication of the books.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (1997)

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000)

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

Reason #4: The book is costly.

The first book, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Store has gained a lot of attention worldwide that a lot were clamoring for the next book. The demand was so huge that it enables the publisher to sell a bit higher. I think I’ve spent more than Php4,000.00 for these books as I did not buy by set. I bought every time one is available in bookstores. Nowadays, the complete set is selling at less than Php3,000.00.

Reason #5: Thick book.

The book has become thicker and thicker in every installment. As I travel by public utility jeepney before, it is a burden bringing a very thick book. I bring a book with me all the time to read in the jeepney. I always have to bring a second bag for the book.

Reason #6: Friends.

Do you have a friend who borrows things from you and does not know how to return them? I have. And when I asked her to return my book, its either she’ll say "yes I’ll return it or oh, I returned it already”. I also have another friend who borrows the book from me and let others borrow it too. In the end she doesn’t know where the book is now. As I don’t want any trouble because of just a book, I leave it be.

Reason #7: Collection.

As I cannot resist to have the set of books, I just have to buy another set to replace the lost ones.

Now that you know why I hate Harry Potter, do you hate him too? What could your reasons be?

Thanks for dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by Unsplash.

 

 

 

 

 

 

7
$ 14.22
$ 14.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 2
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Na not a fan of harry porter i didn't watch a single part of it yet don't know but whenever i tried watching it in childhood i feel bored and don't know what was the reason

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Why? Read the book, don't watch the movie. There are lots in the book that were revised in the movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fan ako nya te sorry 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HaHaHaHa I feel you...I first read HP way back HS and I just borrowed it from my teacher who really loved Malfoy instead of Harry🙄..and she had all the collection so I was a border in her house before😂😂😂

I am currently re reading it as of the moment and I am on book 5 because I love the pensive thing😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought you literally don't like the Harry Potter. To he honest, I'm not interested in the book and even in the movie 😂🔨.. don't know why. But some of my friends and best friend really loves harry Potter. Maybe I should paint him sometimes on my pot 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try reading first, it will get you hooked! Then make a Harry Potter series for your pots... eagles, cats, etc...👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a nice idea. Ill just search some image.. I have plan to read other book. Patriarch and Prophets 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago