24 Years and Counting

1 19
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

June 18, 2021

Motivation is the process that initiates, guides, and maintains goal-oriented behaviors. It is the driving force behind human actions. – Mr. Google

_________________________________________________

Although I am late in joining @JonicaBradley’s Writing Prompts as I am still at Writing Prompt #2 – Motivation while the rest are now publishing their entries for Writing Prompt #3 – Similarities & Writing Prompt #4 – Darkness, but they say it is better late than never. 😁

Here are the simple rules for those who are also late in joining in.

>  Write about Motivation

>  Write 100% original content

>  Write at least 600 words

>  Tag @JonicaBradley

>  And Have Fun

24 years and counting, yes I am now in the 24th year working for my current company and this coming August 16 I will officially be 25 years here.

So what motivates me to stay in this company?

WORKING ENVIRONMENT

When I started working for this company way back in 1996, there were less than twenty employees. The company was relatively new then, having been incorporated in 1994. Though this is just a small company by then but it is an affiliate of a much bigger and reliable company. The mother company is a construction company and they ventured into real estate in which I am part of the accounting team.

Our office is on the fourth floor of the mother company’s building. Because of the smaller space, we all get to know each other and eventually became one family.

There was open and easy camaraderie. Often times teasing and raucous while maintaining respect and loyalty.

I feel that I belong here.

CARE

I was working in the company for four years when my father needs emergency care and was admitted to the hospital. As we don’t have ready funds to put up a down payment at the hospital, I asked the management for help. They provided me with a letter of guarantee that the company will pay the hospitalization fees to be submitted to the hospital accounting office. So my father was immediately attended to.

I feel that I am cared for.

BENEFITS

Although at the start of my employment, company benefits were not explicitly informed to us but the Human Resource (HR) has evolved and has from time to time add various benefits for the employees in their list.

One of which is when the employee reached 10 years, she will enjoy a vacation for 2 in an upscale resort in the city. This was only added to their list of benefits when I was already 12 years in the company but nevertheless they still gave me such benefit. So together with my husband and children, we were able to have an overnight stay at the Shangri-la Hotel in Mactan.

Yes, my kids were with us, as my brother was working in Shangri-la at that time and was able to get a free entrance for my kids, though we were staying in just one room. It’s a bit tight but we enjoyed it much.

On my twentieth year, it was a budget of Php 50,000.00 for an overnight stay anywhere within the Philippines. This time, as I brought again my kids, I have to shell out from my pocket. We toured Batangas and Manila. A new adventure for the kids.

I was already informed by our HR that I can avail of another travel for my 25th year and this time it will be outside of the Philippines with a budget of Php 100,000.00. Me and my kids were already planning to travel either to Korea or Japan when the pandemic attacks. So for now this will be put on hold.

There are more benefits given to the employees, no need to enumerate them.

Don’t you think that is motivation enough?

For me the best motivation for staying long in the company is because I have a wonderful boss. She respects her staff. She gives us free rein as long as it gives positive output.

Another motivation that makes me stay put in one company is what my mother told me a long, long time ago, when I just graduated in college and was looking for a job. This has been my constant reminder.

She said “Rolling stones gathers no moss”. I didn’t know by then that this is an old proverb.

She explained further that a person who keeps on moving cannot accumulate wealth.

Because of the various motivation mentioned above, I stay put.

I stay put to accumulate wealth as I am now entitled to a Retirement Benefit. I have almost 25 years of contribution in the Social Security System that will provide me a pension when I reach the age of 60. I have almost 25 years of contribution in Pag-ibig, another government agency, which I can withdraw with interest anytime.

I stay put as my status in the company has been moving from a mere staff to managerial.

I stay put as I have responsibilities to my staff who I considered as family.

I hope I made justice on @JonicaBradley’s Writing Prompt #2 – Motivation.

@Codex_04 @ChorO6 you might want to join too, that is if you haven't joined yet. 😁

Thanks for dropping by. 🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by unsplash.

3
$ 5.41
$ 5.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @JonicaBradley
+ 2
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for participating. You're never to late for these prompts. They're here forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago