Water and Electrical Wires

13 24
Avatar for Joyouscoyote
3 years ago

I've had a horrible accident in my house which made me realise that each and every object is either compatible with any other object or the wise versa. In my case, I learned it the hard way that water or any liquid doesn't go well with he live electrical cables. I've had disinfectants sprayed all over my house recently and a few sockets in my kitchen were not completely fitted on the wall as you can see from the picture above.

So the guy sprayed the liquid in all corners of the kitchen. Then he went on to spray at the edges of the shelves. He didn't just spray it there, he sort of poured the chemical at the edges of it. I was there the whole time coz I heard that these guys dont normally do a good work if not supervised.

After the he moved on to other rooms and sprayed all over. As he was about to finish up, there are a loud boom and i could see smoke and massive burning smell.coming from the kitchen. The funny part was when this happened, the pesticide guy ran outside the house and me towards the kitchen, it was such a filmy scene and i still laugh when i can imagine the whole scenario. It was scary but funny as hell as well.

So I rushed to the kitchen and I could only see smoke in there. I knew the liquid had definitely something to do with it but i couldn't figure out where it happened. The first thing I did at that time was turned all the breakers off and my house went into dark age lol.

I found the burned switch board and sealed it off with paper tapes as i couldn't think of anything else. The switch had some open wires init that were not completely insulated while installation and when the water/chemical touched the live cable it sparked which resulted in some cooked sockets and all the cables inside my wall.

I was lucky in a sense that it didnt escalate and there was some cut off along the way that avoided the spark to reach the panel or else God knows what could have happened.

So, the moral of the story is, always take precautions while doing something new. I learned my lesson the hard way, and i really hope there is something for everyone reading it to get.

Cheers

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Joyouscoyote
3 years ago

Comments

I am sorry that you learned it the hard way but safety is our number one priority and you should always take necessary measures to avoid any future incidents

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, i will definitely be extra cautious i just had some other company to do another round of pesticide spray in my house with all the necessary precautions

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is good. Sometimes there service providers don’t even care and do more damage than any good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just checked into my house to see the progress. All of those little devils are still wandering around. I'm gonna ask for a refund now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. Man those things just don’t die. There is a study that states that even in a nuclear disaster they will survive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah but its a human nature that im bound to follow, which is making me go through all of that stuff

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you should. You paid for a service and they are bound to deliver the promised quality.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A quick update, i can still see those monsters wandering around in the house. I'm gonna ask for a refund now. Its going to be very interesting lol, as they have a bad reputation in customer service lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah. Lol. Go fight with them , it is your right as a customer. Keep us posted with the turn of events 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yeah man, customer is always right. I'm gonna pounce by keeping that in mind. The major issue is the communication gap. They don't understand english even though its a big company

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. Good luck, lets see how far you manage to convince them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, will keep you updated. Its more than just convincing them now. I have wasted 4 days of my life in the last 18 days just trying to eliminate something and I failed. Now someone gotta pay for that and it sure as hell not gonna be me lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its ok man. Don’t worry about them much

$ 0.00
3 years ago