Experience is the best teacher

0 22
Avatar for Josh47
Written by
1 year ago

O8/08/2022

What do you think guys? Is Experience really the best teacher

Some years back when I see people do/eat some certain things I do feel it was as a result of stinginess or should I say greediness 🀷🀷🀷🀷.

There was a time in my life I never knew what hunger means as i can even eat about 4 times (When school is on session) then up to 5 times ( on Saturday) How possible 🀷🀷.

When school is on session πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡

My mom waking up before any other person in the house very early in the morning to prepare food for us to take along with us. Then She will be the one to wake I and my siblings up by 5am to make preparation before the school bus come with it disturbing horn ☺️☺️ and been served with hot tea and Slice bread or sometimes noodles (Separate from the ones we take to school), I am the first child of the house out of 4 children so I was always given the Largest share (Although sometimes I feel I am being cheated☺️☺️). After being served with what I call rush hour food, a morning prayer is then taking (led by my mom, my dad is not always around except on weekends). I always prefer my dad taking the morning prayers instead of my mom why? My dad prayer is quite short and friends in the neighborhood hardly hear his voice , I am the type of person that doesn't like to shout when doing things, I prefer doing it silently so I detest anything talking aloud, when my mom takes the morning prayer should raise her voice to the highest tone 🀦🀦 which irritates me but there is nothing I can do about it.

Getting to school and when it's time for break by 11:45am I eat for the second time in the day, the breaktime last for about 45minutes. Then after closing from school by 3pm ( Before i would get home it will be around evening precisely 5pm because my community is the school bus last Busstop ( I hate this 🀦🀦). On getting home with my school uniform still on me i expect my food to be served but my mom won't give anything until you take your bath , I always get pissed off when she put this as a requirement to being served.

After eating in the evening my mom will be expect us to sleep with that food we have taking after comming back from school but you know what we the children still request for more later in the evening making it 4times in a day 🀦🀦.

On a Saturdays or when school isn't on session πŸ‘‡ πŸ‘‡ πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡

I love Saturdays because my dad will always be at home on a Saturday because of the of the junk food he will buy for the day πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ although my dad can be very strict atimes 🀦🀦🀦.

This period there is no need waking up very early in the morning to prepare but by 7am every body is up for the day. Noodles being served as usual ( my dad hates noodles). After that another food is being served by 10am or sometimes 11am (people call this brunch that is food taking close to noon.)

My mum already made a culture in the house that once it's 2pm lunch can be requested for , anything below this time is out of the game and she can be very strict in this are timing. So once it's 2pm I and my siblings quickly leave whatever we are doing and come for food 🀦🀦🀦.

As at about 7pm dinner is ready and every body is being served. After dinner my dad made this an habit of taking Pap and bean cake (Akara) of which my mom detest so much, she feels my dad was spoiling I and my siblings as he always calls us to eat as much we can.

Unfortunately All this came to an end when my dad lost his Job as he was trying to manage. As at this period I was 16 plus few months to my birthday I was already applying for the unified tetiary matriculation Examination its an entry examination to the university in my country, Application for this exam use to be very stressful because of the crowd of students going for it but I don't know how I did it that made it stress free.

🀦🀦 Something happened after the registration, in the space for mathematics the computer operator went and click music ( not even relating to what I am applying for) I was so sad all effort put in place to solve the issue was abortive. The issue was later solved some few weeks. I wrote the Exam and it was a boom the cut off mark to writing the post utme exam (next exam before you are finally admitted) is 200 but I scored 291, I wasn't surprised because I was even expecting a score higher than this. I wrote the post utme and also got a very remarkable score.

After Few months I was given admission in school to study my preferred course it was a thing of joy but there was a kind of an hindrance which was the money to pay the Acceptance fee as you can't do anything in school without paying this fee, well God did it the fee was paid after all hope was lost that I won't go to school that year.

Finally in the University trying to make do with what I was given as pocket money. Fortunately for me the non Academic staff Union was on strike for a semester so I stayed in the hostel for free. Myself that was eating 4 to 5times a day learnt how to eat 2times a day and sometimes once a day and you know the worst of it , the food were not even rich in nutrients πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„πŸ˜„.... So many fees to be paid in the University i wasn't even having materials to read because no money to buy them as the cost of buying them was quite not friendly at all although it really didn't tell on me because most of the things being taught I already knew them. I wasn't able to pay for but I don't know how it happened i wrote exams without paying any fees.

Guys I don't even know the motivatiom behind this write-up but just feel l should put this together. As all hands are not equal, so don't feel others are lazy when they are not able to meet up with a specific goal. Always be contented with what you have as little drops of water will one day become an ocean.

Good morning from here πŸ‘πŸ‘

3
$ 1.92
$ 1.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Josh47
Written by
1 year ago

Comments