My method for Outlining (And actually remember) topics

0 11
Avatar for JophMax
1 year ago

Kinda like making scribbles in Kinder Garten

I find myself to be very resilient when It comes to learning things and record them in my mind, Usually forgetting them from one week to another. This might happen to a lot more people that we would like to admit, though, with many attempts of trial and error and trying to adapt my methods for outlining information to my preferences, I came up with a strategy that has really helped me to be more focused on the process of studying while at the same time permitting me to keep the information in a more permanent way. Let's begin by defining what that particular method is:


Schematization:

I'm more of an image over words guy, and since I was a kid I found easier to learn through mental maps or little diagrams that were made in order to compare information, so when I applied this method to my studies, It worked wonders for me. Not only I was able to stay more focused while doing my work, though I really found It easier to explain difficult concepts in my own words and actually remember them. With Schematization, what I basically do with this approach is to break down paragraphs into images, maps and little pieces of text in a notebook or platform that permits me to represent the information in a more visual way.

In a more detailed way, the process goes like this:

- Read the paragraph from beginning to end and try to understand It till you can come up with a resume of It (With your own words).

- Use different symbols and images to represent the overall Idea that the paragraph tries to convey.

- Recite to yourself what the paragraph Is by using the identification with the figures.

- Come back after 1-2 days to reenforce the information and use the diagrams as cues.

When I say that I'm representing the overall Idea with symbols and images, I mean that I establish a system where different images and symbols are used to describe different things, for example, a verb is usually enclosed by a square and nouns are written along with the image that best describes them.


Now that we've described how this method works, I would like to talk about how It has helped me:


Advantages of this Method

Every person learns in a different way, so this might not apply to everyone, though the most notable improvements that I have seen in my studies can be described by the next points.

Increased focus, as the brain not only focuses Itself in the information as text, though in associating the content with related Images too.

Giving more space to an own synthesis of the text, as It is required to come up with a clear definition of what It is.

Helping with the retention of information for longer periods of time, as It uses association to come up with the related Idea and giving It a more dynamic edge when remebering It.

Disadvantages of this method:

Even If this technique has brought me great benefits, I am aware of Its deficiencies also, which, even though not in a great amount, they are a factor to take into account when choosing this approach.

Slowing the rate at which information is gathered: As It involves a little bit more of analysis, identification and expression, It takes a little bit more time to come with schemes according to the content of a paragraph.

Not as organized: As It is required to depict the information with Images and other visual methods, and taking the time factor into consideration, It is easy to get impatient and put the symbols and Its sequence anywhere, which not only will make the data seem messier, though It will also make It harder to revisit the topic and understand It in a more straightforward manner.


With all this said, I encourage you to try with different techniques when studying in order to find the one that works the best with you, making you able to put more into your work and remembering what you just did for a longer time. Good Luck!

1
$ 0.24
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JophMax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JophMax
1 year ago

Comments