3 Key components to Mastery

2 62
Avatar for JophMax
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

My own experience

As a person that always encounters resistance while trying to do his own work, and by resistance I mean my own mind making excuses and doing everything for me to not put in the hours, I find pretty excruciating the time between taking a decision and actually putting It in practice, though I always execute. This is not due to an unlimited reserve of willpower or something in that style, It's just the habits that I instilled with some effort and having some rules in mind. What I use to just get things done, even when I don't want to, are 3 principles that I've gathered whether from books or from my own experience, what I believe to be 3 key components that might help people from all fields in doing their thing regardless of the conditions.

1.- Nothing starts being beautiful.

When you were a little baby and tried to walk for the first time, probably you didn't even stand for a fraction of a second before you fell to the floor. That's what this principle conveys: Don't let social media or any kind of media try to fool you into thinking that from your first painting or song you'll be making masterpieces, they'll probably be from a poor quality. Does that matter? No, because If you ask everyone that has achieved something in any field, they'll respond to you the same, they began doing bad things till they became good.

2.- Constant repetition over deliberate periods of time beats long and inconsistent hours.

This I realized when practicing Piano. The first time I actually tried to learn a piece, I spent like 6 hours trying to play something that resembled what the notes in the sheet dictated. I wasn't succesful and I became pretty frustrated, not touching the keyboard until 2 years later. Over that period of time I learned something: If I practiced something regularly enough, even during a short period of time in the day, It'll be more probable that I'll get It done. Then, one morning, I tried this approach with learning piano, now getting down the fundamentals like scales, chords and arpeggios first, and doing It daily for about 30 minutes. This has helped me a lot and I got really better, which I wouldn't have done If It wasn't for this approach.

3.- All that matters is being present.

And finally, what still haunts me to this day. The complaining inside my mind when I'm trying to write an essay or produce something, always telling me that there's something more interesting to do and trying to distract me with all kinds of Ideas about the past, the present, tomorrow's lunch and yesterday's dinner. To be honest, the harsh truth about this Is that you can't do anything to eliminate this inner talk. It will always be present, in Its sneaky and poisoning fashion. What you can really do Is just get accustomed to this suffering and grind through. By having the consistency to just being present to work, and not caring If you do It good or bad, you'll notice results, not today, maybe not tomorrow, though over the course of months or years, where you'll see that your craft becomes sharper by everyday that passes and you come up with new thoughts and Ideas that can elevate what you do to the next level.

Sponsors of JophMax
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 6.29
$ 6.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JophMax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JophMax
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

Comments

You have go powerful components that guides you success. Surely, everyone have got that internal resistance from within and it is without questions that your tips here would go a long way to helping those wanting to overcome that resistance. I've taken note too, and would be using your tips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was answering tons of modules lately, and I wanted some motivation. Then, I decided to check my account, and while scrolling, I saw this article of yours. Coincidence? I always hurry things up because I don't want to procrastinate. As a result, I always want my works to be always beautiful. But, the moment and the more I try so hard to make it excellent, the more mistakes I made. Not until, I've read this article and to be honest, it helped me a lot. Thanks a ton, and nice article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago