A dream ruined because of pride?

0 23
Avatar for Jonjonjon
2 years ago
Topics: Life

What was your dream when you were younger? Are you living that dream now that you're a grown-up?

Dreams are something that we want to become or to have. It is somehow a motivation to work hard, to strive, and to push harder.

When we were younger, we have this dream that motivates us to study hard and finish our education. Some dreamed to become a pilot when they grow old because they want to be on an airplane. Some dreamed to become captains when they grow old because they want to navigate a ship. Some dreamed of becoming a teacher because they want to impart knowledge and to nurture the young ones. Some dreamed to become a doctor to help and heal patients. Some dreamed to become a king, a queen, or a president of a country because they want to rule. But mine, was to become an Architect and an Interior Designer because I want to design the outside and inside of a house.

The story

Before graduating high school, I received an offer from my aunt that they will be supporting me in my college. I was really happy at that moment of my life for I know I will be pursuing the course I want; something close to my heart, which is architecture or interior designing and with that, I'm few steps away from my dreams.

That thought alone made me so eager to study hard and prepare for myself in entering college for I know college isn't that easy, more challenging and it requires a lot, like patience, time and effort, and perseverance. And lucky enough to graduate high school with honors, I made it to the top 5, I'm 3rd honorable mention. And received a laptop from my aunt.

I know my aunt could afford a lot of expensive things that's why she's giving me a lot of support and trying to help me in pursuing my studies. And I also know that she is indebted or I must say grateful for my father because he sacrificed so much for her to be able to reach where she is right now.

During the summer break after graduation, our family had a conversation about this matter; my college. Because my aunt asks if when will I go to the capital city of the country (Manila), where they are residing, and ask which school will I choose between Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP) or the University of Santo Thomas ( UST), these are prestigious universities of the Philippines.

But my father told me not to go there and just take a course at the nearest state university. Something we can afford, like teacher education or Information technology.

After uttering those words I was so devastated and disappointed at the same time. I felt like I lose hope and that the burning desire in achieving my goals went off. But I know there's a reason behind why he chose to turn down such an offer, that it wasn't because of pride.

After the conversation with the family, I informed my aunt about the decision made and turned down the offer. My aunt called my dad over the phone, they seem serious while talking, and I know something was up.

A few days after, I overheard my parent's conversation about that matter, that my father doesn't want my aunt to do it, not because it hurts his pride but because he doesn't want her younger sister to give back to him, that him helping her to study when they were young; his sacrifices for her are genuine and it comes from his heart, his own will. And that she isn't obliged to return the favor. Another reason is to avoid misunderstanding with their other siblings who don't know what my father went through just to help her younger sister, to avoid circulation of gossips about them, that why my aunt gives so much support to their brothers family and not to them.

Learning the reasons behind wakes me up and pick myself up from devastation and disappointments. I motivated myself to finish my education. That it isn't about how prestigious the university is, it's about your desire and your perseverance to learn and achieve your goals in life.

conclusion

There are reasons why things happen in life, but it is up to us to see a better view of everything. Bad things are inevitable, but experiencing such will give us a lot of lessons to learn, and these lessons will be applied as we go with our life journey.

And if you aren't living with that dreams of yours, well it's never too late to pursue it now.

Sponsors of Jonjonjon
empty
empty
empty

Source:

Lead Image: https://unsplash.com/photos/8OynRGNt6uI

house interior: https://unsplash.com/photos/s95oB2n9jng

man's image:https://unsplash.com/photos/vh0KhJK3oCQ

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jonjonjon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jonjonjon
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments