Intoxic by Prosha Deun Book Review

4 55
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I follow a lot of women and bipoc authors. One of these authors, Porsha Deun, gave me an Advance Reader Copy (ARC) and asked me to read and review it.

While I had my kidney stone episode, I read a lot for escape. I read not-too-trashy fantasy romance novels. So when Porsha asked for ARC readers who weren't offended by BDSM, polyamory, or alternative lifestyles, I volunteered.

The following is my review of Intoxic. If your interest is piqued, check out Porsha on Amazon.

Intoxic by Porsha Deun

This book starts with a bang!

I was promised polyamory, BDSM, addiction, and lesbians.

What I got was so much more!

I came for the sex and stayed for the story. Each bite-sized chapter is told from the three main characters’ points of view. Many people have attempted this format, though few succeed. Jodi Picoult comes to mind. And, now, Porsha Deun. 

Deun was able to so successfully get into the mind of each character I didn’t know who to root for. I rooted for each character in turn, though towards the end (no spoilers, I promise!) I held my breath hoping the outcome was not going to be what I expected.

Intoxic is so much more than an erotic romance novel. It covers a wide range of important topics such as loyalty, parenting, race relations, friendship, addiction, family, and death.

Deun describes the generational dynamics in family so well. Prison legacy and teen pregnancy, the legacy of addiction, addictions other than to substances all following a straight line through each generation. 

Until the legacy finally stops by choice.

The conclusion of the book wraps everything in a nice tidy bow and yet I could read about Titan, Jackie, Sasha, and their lives for many more books to come.

5 out of 5 stars.


10
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Itsfarah
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Nice one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems me interesting, as you mentioned its covers all topics like loyalty, race relations, friendship,family, and death, I will definitely try to read it at weekend if I could find it easily.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't think it comes out until October 18. But do give it a read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
2 years ago