I Want to Have Jans Haaning's Babies, Here's Why

7 49
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

My husband began laughing. Tears were gushing out of his eyes, running down his face, and dripping off of his chin faster than he could wipe them away. He could barely breathe.

"What?" I asked. "What's so funny?"

He tried to tell me, but couldn't stop laughing long enough to take a breath. I started laughing with him, though I didn't yet know what was so funny. After several failed attempts at speech he simply handed me his phone.

I read the NPR story and started laughing myself.

Please take the time to read this story on NPR.org by BILL CHAPPELL.

It isn't very long, and you will get a good laugh, too. I'll wait.

https://www.npr.org/2021/09/29/1041492941/jens-haaning-kunsten-take-the-money-and-run-art-denmark-blank

Did you read it? Do you see the brilliance of this artist? His stunt is incredibly Banksy-like.

I am an artist as well as an art aficionado. So I follow art stories. It is just by chance that my husband got to this article before I did.

Eventually, my husband stopped laughing and crying. He does love a good "stick it to the man" story. As do I.

I think the brilliance of Haaning's creation lies as much in his statement, "Take the money and run," as it does in his unwillingness to recreate an art installation he had already created. I am a little surprised an art museum would even make that request, let alone front the cash for it.

Art needs to keep forward motion. It needs to continue to be fresh and surprising. Contemporary artists must keep moving forward if they want to remain relevant. And Haaning is certainly relevant this week.

I admire the audacity and ingenuity of Jans Haaning's latest art installation. Two blank canvases.

Lead and first image Photo by Justyn Warner on Unsplash

8
$ 5.03
$ 4.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Porwest
+ 2
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

It means that a story can make laughs or cry in anyone face.I didn't follow this types of art but after hearing your story, I will try to read this.Both of your expression saying that it's great to read!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"It is a breach of contract, and breach of contract is part of the work," he said,

This part made me laugh for a few good seconds. But in the end I realize this happens in real life. Taking the money and run. I hope I could do that, too. LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's just brilliant!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha effortless art piece to those people who don't about it. But if Hannings will take it to the court surely the judge will be favor to him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The artist was indeed smart, that's just the beauty of art. The work itself is the significance of the work. If the case is ever taken to court, Hannings will win.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I think!

$ 0.00
2 years ago