Fear Regret not Failure

0 25
Avatar for JomaimaLaguna
3 years ago

Choosing a career path is very difficult because you are torn between practicality and passion. Most children in the lower class understand this very well. I can remember when I first told my uncle I wanted to become a lawyer, I can read in his face the "she won't make it" phrase. Yes, I really didn't make it because later in life I realize I wanted to become a doctor. Law school and med school have a common ground, both are hard to achieve and both are expensive.

Back in junior high school, I hated science especially chemistry and physics but I always envision myself helping others, I just don't know yet that time in what way I can do it. When I reached 10th grade, we have so many seminars and workshop about it. I wasn't sure that time what path should I take, what job should I pursue, and what kind of life I want to live.

People that time object to the implementation of K-12, but I am grateful that it was implemented, it does not only make us globally competitive but it helps us to have time to think about what we want.

The time I realized I wanted to become a doctor, I asked myself what kind of doctor I wanted to be. I do self-examination, I listed my interest, I did a recap of things that I excel in, and I listed the things that I enjoy doing. By that, I come up with a realization that I want to be a doctor to patients with mental illness. Then I did research on how to become a doctor here in the Phillipines, I was shocked because it is a tough and very long process.

Here are the 10 steps on becoming a doctor:

1. Prepare as early as high school. 
2. Get into college.
3. Take a gap year (optional).
4. Choose you target medical school. 
5. Ace the  National Medical Admission Test (NMAT).
6. Apply to your chosen medical school.
7. Survive medical school.
8. Pass the Physicial Licesnsure Exam.
9. Undergo medical residency training.
10. Get into fellowship training. 

[ source: https://filipiknow.net/how-to-become-a-doctor-in-the-philippines/ ]

I always think about the worst-case scenario, I already foresee that what if I can't enroll in med school because of financial incapability. Med school is quite expensive and this is what I meant:

Top 20 Medical School in Philippines and thier estimated tuition fees

1. University of the East – Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center (UERRMC)
ESTIMATED TUITION: P133,000 (cash), P163,883 (by installment)

2. University of Santo Tomas (UST)
ESTIMATED TUITION: P125,000+ (1st to 3rd year) and P230,000+ (4th year)

3. The University of the Philippines – Manila
ESTIMATED TUITION: P36,000+ (family income below 1M) – P51,000+ (family income above 1M)

4. Cebu Institute of Medicine (CIM)
ESTIMATED TUITION: Around P76,000+

5. De La Salle Medical and Health Sciences Institute (DLSMHSI) 
ESTIMATED TUITION: P130,000 to P260,000

6. Far Eastern University-Nicanor Reyes Medical Foundation (FEU-NRMF)
ESTIMATED TUITION: Around P90,000 to P110,00

7. Saint Luke’s College of Medicine – William H. Quasha Memorial (SLCM-WHQM)
ESTIMATED TUITION: Roughly P128,000 (cash), P146,144 (by installment)

8. Saint Louis University (SLU)
ESTIMATED TUITION: P40,000 to P60,000

9.  Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila (PLM)
ESTIMATED TUITION: (see the link for options)

10. Davao Medical School Foundation (DMSFI)
ESTIMATED TUITION: P56,000 to P60,000

11. Cebu Doctors’ University – College of Medicine (CDC-CM)
ESTIMATED TUITION: Fee: Around P75,000+

12. Ateneo de Manila University 
ESTIMATED TUITION:  P117,000

13. West Visayas State University – La Paz (WVSU-CM)
ESTIMATED TUITION: P21,000+ (1st to 3rd year) and P30,000+ (4th year).

14. Xavier University
ESTIMATED TUITION: Around P58,000+

15. San Beda University
ESTIMATED TUITION: P108,000

16. Ateneo De Zamboanga University
ESTIMATED TUITION: P50,000 to P80,000

17. Angeles University Foundation (AUF)
ESTIMATED TUITION: P27,000 to P95,000

18. Siliman University
ESTIMATED TUITION: P60,000 to P80,000

19. Central Philippines University (CPU)
ESTIMATED TUITION: Around P73,000 per year

20. Mindanao State University (MSU) – Marawi City
ESTIMATED TUITION: oughly P15,000+ per semester

(Source: https://www.ecomparemo.com/info/top-medical-schools-philippines )

I always put in mind that I wanted a job if not being a doctor, any job that related to helping people with mental illness or mental health issues. It is important that before choosing a career path you know yourself well, you know what you like and what you don't because that is your starting point. In my case, I like being engaged in programs that motivate others, redirecting people to the right path, and helping individuals in achieving their dreams. So I chose Humanity and Social Sciences during my Senior High School.

During my senior years, I take the time wisely, this is my last years of examining if I am fit for the career path I want to take, and the last year I build myself to be the right person for my chosen career. In those years I also learned that in order to achieve my dream job psychology is the best course for me to study and to prepare myself.

But before I could wear the white uniform there are major obstacles I needed to overcome, and one of those are financial problems. My parents object to my decision when I told them about the course I am about to take. There was a long discussion and I understand their point very well. I believe when there is a problem there is always a solution, and giving up my dream is not one of those I consider. So I applied for 9 scholarships and one state university. Sadly, I wasn't able to enter the state university and that leaves me with a choice to enroll in a private university.

I chose Southwestern University -PHINMA, and luckily I got a scholarship there as well as the Cebu City Scholarship. The university gives me hope and inspires me so much. I also applied for a part-time job to support my daily needs in school. Now I am a second-year college, my life is very stressful but I love what I am doing.

This is the lesson I wanted to leave, do not fear failure, fear regret. Because we only leave once and living our life without purpose is such a waste of time.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for JomaimaLaguna
3 years ago

Comments