What Students Are Really Thinking About Online Learning

0 17
Avatar for JohnArt
3 years ago

What has your online learning experience been as a student? What did you like about it? What didn't you like about it? How does it compare with your experience as a student in a physical classroom? In the future, if you could choose, would you want to do more online learning? If so, why? If not, why not?

In Part One, five students from the high school where I teach in Sacramento, Calif., shared their reflections.

In Part Two, contributions come from students in Austin Green's 1st grade class in Utah and others connected with the Kansas State School for the Blind.

In Part Three, contributors came from my class; Ryan Jakacki's class in Plymouth, Minn.; and Anne Magnin's class in France.

Today, several students from my classes "wrap things up" in the final post of this series.

"The temptations are REAL!"

Lee Xiong is a junior at Luther Burbank High School:

School has been tough. Transferring to all online learning has been the biggest challenge this year for me. As a student, I'd say I've usually kept up with all my work for all my classes. The biggest change I've seen in myself is becoming less focused with my school work.

Being in a physical classroom is tremendously different from learning online. In a classroom, most of your focus is there, unlike virtually, the temptations are REAL! Yes, self-discipline is good to learn, but when having all this thrown at you, you can't blame the student for not wanting to work... at least that's my opinion.

This online learning has affected me personally because during this time, I found myself turning in assignments weeks late. It wasn't because I was having trouble, it was because I had no motivation and energy to do them. This isn't the norm for me. Without a routine schedule, I felt lost. That makes me sound like a robot, but I think it's because it's been that way since we were so small, change this big is affecting me to the max.

This has taught me that online learning will not be for me in the future! Maybe for one or two classes, but overall I plan for my school life to be set in a physical classroom for the most part. Although this has been a challenging time for school and out in the real world, remembering to stand tall will get us through this together

The online learning experience as a student for me has been fine. I sometimes find myself not interested in doing my assignments and I feel like I'm lazy. I still do the assignments, but I sometimes end up turning in my assignments late. It's like I'll do the assignments whenever I feel like doing it.

I can say that there is a reason for this, and that is where I am doing my school work. My home is not a learning environment like at school, where there are teachers, other students, learning tools, desks/tables, chairs, a library, lots of space, and those who you can get support from. At home is like a sleeping or resting environment. In a classroom, I can focus more on my assignments/work and get engaged in the subject. Whenever I'm in a classroom, I feel prepared to learn and get my brain pumped; at home, I feel like it's very hard to be prepared because I'm always getting distracted. Whenever I need help, my teachers or classmates are there for me. When I have a question at home, I have to wait for a response.

I do have to say that whenever I'm at school, I always feel nervous in class. Now that I'm at home learning, I don't feel nervous. From my online learning experience right now, I would not choose more online learning in the future because in a school, a classroom is a learning environment. Also, I feel like it's easier to communicate with my classmates/groups for projects, teachers, counselors, and principal. Learning at a school is best for me.

As a student, my online learning experience hasn't been great. This new learning system has its perks, such as more time to do assignments in the comfort of your home, not having to wake up so early to go to school, and ensuring the safety of the staff as well as the students. Despite these benefits, there are downsides of this method of learning. For example, I have many responsibilities at home, such as taking care of my younger siblings, cooking meals, cleaning up after them, etc. I also find it harder to have any motivation when I'm doing school assignments. When I'm surrounded by all these other temptations like my phone or other electronics, I lose any will to do work.

The environment at home is different from the workspace students have at school. A classroom provides a quiet academic place to do work while a household can be loud and cause students to lose concentration or not even work at all. Additionally, I find that simply reading the instructions for an assignment or lesson isn't as engaging as when it's explained by a teacher. The information is much easier to retain when heard rather than simply rushing to read the directions. If I could choose, in the future I would not like to do more online learning because I like having a teacher physically there to help me when I need it. Having a teacher presence helps me focus more on school work, engages me into learning, and the teachers help guide me through the work and are there for any questions I have.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for JohnArt
3 years ago

Comments