The three-eyed raven

0 33
Avatar for Joewest24
3 years ago

It was late that night, with the wind blowing and thunder rumbling.

The electricity had gone out 10 minutes after the storm started. I wished the storm hadn't started at that time it did. We were just getting ready for a Friday night party.

There was no way we could make it to the party that night. The roads were blocked as trees had fallen on the roads. We were literally stuck. Just I and my immediate elder sister. It was past 1 a.m at the time. We were already halfway away from home. Going back was not an option.

'Over there! Look! shelter', I exclaimed pointing to a hut made from wood just a few meters away from the main road. We were a little bit relieved.

We immediately ran towards the direction of the hut, hoping to get there as fast as we could as it was getting chilly outside.

The hut was empty. Like nobody else except both of us had noticed it. It only had one small stool in the middle. It looked creepy and the door had this creaking sound it made whenever the wind blew.

We were scared, but much more scared of going out in the storm. So we decided to stay in and wait out the storm.

Ten minutes had passed and the storm didn't look like it had plans of ending anytime soon. My sister had fallen asleep already, while I was awake to stand guard. Typical brother stuff.

I decided to open the door of the hut to see what it looked like outside because we have been locked up for a while now. I flung open the door and this creature flew in.

I screamed! It was so sudden. It flew in with so much speed like it had been waiting for me to open up the door for a long time now. I had to wake my sister up.

I pointed my phone's torch toward it. I was terrified at its sight.

Its feathers were all scattered like it's been drenched in the rain and was tired. I knew it was weak cause of the storm, but I was still terrified. It was araven.

I took a closer look and saw a third eye on its head. I literally wanted to run out of the hut, screaming 'The blood of Jesus'., but it was rainig outside. I would haveto deal with it. I and my sister continued to stare at theravenfor over a minute witout moving an inch. It was also staring at us.I could tell it was scared and alone and lost. I felt sorry for it but at the same time, I was scared of it. Wanted to touch it, but I can't touch a creature with three eyes. I just could not.

I got closer to it and it did not even move an inch. It was exhausted.

I felt compassion. I took off my inner vest and wrapped it round, leving just its head visible. It stayed still. My sister on the other hand was just watching from afar, still in shock.

We ended up staying there till dawn. I woke up a few minutes past six. Light was already penetrating through small openings in the wood. The raven was still with us. I got up and opened the door. I held up the raven in my hand and found out it was still a little raven. It must have been lost. One look at it again, I found out, the third eye was not really an eye. It was an injury on its head. I chuckled softly. I have just been scared of nothing. There was nothing mythical about it then.

As soon as we were out of the hut, I set it free. It struggled to fly at first, but later gained balance.

By eight a.m, we were home. Mum was already in tears as she said she had called our cell phones over fifty times but it never went through. Bad network. The storm caused it.

I woke up in the middle of the night that day due to a pestering noise on my window. I got up to check and you would not believe what I saw.............

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Joewest24
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Joewest24
3 years ago

Comments